Dodge Challenger Forum banner

Better 60' times ?

4K views 17 replies 7 participants last post by  Dadstoy 
#1 · (Edited)
Can some of you more seasoned track guys fill me in on how to get my 60 foot times to below 1.8. I currently run a 295 wide rear tire with stock suspension and my 60 foot times rarely reach below 2.5 thus making me run in the 14's, which is garbage. Are slicks the only option? Has anyone seen improvements with Afco coil overs or even the hop not kits. I am a technician by trade and oldschool denotes suspension, slicks etc. I don't want to throw money at this problem. Any help would be appreciated.

09 SRT 6 speed
Rear reso deleted
Roto fab CAI
93 tune with predator
180 thermo.

#2 ·
Go for that full-on 4.10 axle, eh? On the 6-spd manual, seems like you need to get as much gear out of 1st as you can get to really put those sticky 295's to work and getting 4200 lbs of car to move.

If you're already breaking them loose, have you tried reducing tire pressure in the rear?...not the best thing for just driving around, but specifically for those instances when you are whittling down the 60 ft time?

#3 ·
Better 60' times?

Well I mean the SRT already has a 3.92 gear ratio so moving up to 4.10 isn't a viable option. I have ran my Tires as low as 26 psi with the same results. I would like to know if anyone has just used DOT Drags in place of a normal tire with no suspension upgrade other than lowering springs and seen 60' times of 1.6 to 1.8.

#5 ·
Other than the money, why isn't a 4.10 a viable option?

Are you experiencing any wheel hop when launching hard?

#6 ·
Oh yea wheel hop is an issue I can't leave the line under power. I have to feather clutch for the first sec or so. As for 4.10 gears increasing a gear ratio by .18 only equate to maybe .2 or .3 on the big end and even more traction issues on the whole shot. Considering my current situation. I have two stock rims that I will put 275/40 nitto dr's and revisit.

#7 · (Edited)