HIDs fried fuse box - Page 4 - Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums
Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Challenger Forum
 

Auto Insurance

Wheel & Tire Center

» Featured Product
Go Back   Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums > General, Performance, and Technical > General Challenger Discussion > Challenger Issues & Problems

ChallengerTalk.com is the premier Dodge Challenger Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2012, 06:51 PM
Yahooligan's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 3,651
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 111
Thanked 900 Times in 619 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Yahooligan
Originally Posted by Mongoose9400 View Post
I had a recent issue with a DDM tuning kit. My relay harness melted. It first blew the 20amp supplied fuse. I installed a 30 amp fuse and all worked well for that night. I noticed a few days later my passenger side wouldn't ignite, but drivers worked fine. That's when I tore in and found the melted harness. My guess is a malfunction that caused the wires to heat up and the larger fuse I installed. The 30 amp fuse never blew even with the harness melted together. I've always seen the kits come supplied with a 30 amp fuse though, maybe this latest harness wasn't built with the right wiring to support a 30 amp fuse.
Er, the larger fuse wasn't the problem...the fuse is for protection in the event of a short or excess current draw. Whenever a properly-sized/supplied fuse blows that should be a sign of a problem, not a sign that you need a bigger fuse. A larger fuse due to an electrical issue is a great way to cause damage, as you found out, or even cause a fire.

DDM's kits seem to have been going downhill for at least a couple of years now based on what I've seen, not that I'd consider any inexpensive retrofit to be a good idea. They used to sell a quality kit, but like a lot of small-ish vendors their growth resulted in them having to cut corners and use cheaper components to meet demand.
__________________
- 2011 Challenger R/T Classic GWE 6-speed, 27M, Hurst Billet Pro shifter, SX catch can, SX skip-shift eliminator, JBA Cat4Ward headers, Solo Mach-X cat-back w/ J-pipes, 180 t-stat, DiabloSport-tuned, Charger intake tube, BC coilovers, Razor's Edge front and rear 4-point braces, SPC UCAs, SPC rear camber bushings, Michelin Pilot Super Sport 255/45ZR20


Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2012, 07:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 31
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok here is my understanding of the situation. im not well versed with mopar as i am with gm's but here it goes. at sum point or other the computer is monitoring exactly how many amps or volts are applied to the relay box why u ask? because of all the technical equipment to make these engines run the way they do with all the extras we want them to have. the bcm talks to the ecm and so on and so forth. when programs are written for these cars and trucks they know wat options they will have on them and the calculated electrical load. when u add something that isnt in the program files it notices the fact it is taking more amps to keep the box powered up becasue other components are not getting the amps they need. in which case it kicks up the alternator to turn up the juice. well then u have all these others systems going wat the hell? when the alternator kicks up the juice to accomodate ur add ons it then overloads the fuse box and the over all load in which it was programmed to handle. anytime you add anything on these newer model vehicles you have to be wary of that. ive had to reprogram options in many of chevys for this because of people adding extra stuff that the ecms and bcms were originally programmed for.

kinda of a general laymans terms. may not be the most proper or technical way of putting it but should help to clear it up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2012, 08:20 PM
Robo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N. Virginia
Posts: 1,531
Photos: (14)
Thanks: 49
Thanked 103 Times in 79 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
We're not the only Dodge group to experience possible TIPM overload issues if tapping into it - read what happened here - Tipm help asap - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
__________________
2009 R/T Challenger

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2012, 08:46 PM
THEM0DIFIER's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 504
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 55
Thanked 62 Times in 47 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Just spit-ballin here. The remote +battery post located on the side of the TIPM is designed to be used for jump starting the vehicle. I don't understand how using this post for a + power source for the HID relay harness can have an affect on the TIPM. I can see how the previous comments about TIPM could apply if you tied directly into one of the fused power sources inside it. Agreed, electrical systems are much more complicated than they use to be. Am I missing something here? My 2cents, the sole cause is defective inferior components were installed.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
__________________
2011 R/T Plus
MODS: OEM HID Headlights w/TRS Harness,LED Foglamps,Bright Pedals, Lockpick,Mopar Catback,392 Covers, Functional Scoops,Chrome Signal Bulbs,Sequental Tail Lamps,Diablo inTune,BT Engine Dressup,Manual Shift Boot, Starburst Adapter & American Shifter Knob.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2012, 08:52 PM
Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 348
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 36 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Originally Posted by THEM0DIFIER View Post
Just spit-ballin here. The remote +battery post located on the side of the TIPM is designed to be used for jump starting the vehicle. I don't understand how using this post for a + power source for the HID relay harness can have an affect on the TIPM. I can see how the previous comments about TIPM could apply if you tied directly into one of the fused power sources inside it. Agreed, electrical systems are much more complicated than they use to be. Am I missing something here? My 2cents, the sole cause is defective inferior components were installed.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
I would have to agree here. The positive terminal under the hood is the same as attaching to the positive side to the battery. It shouldn't have made a difference if that is where he powered the HDIs from. I also agreed with everyone that has said that it makes no sense to blame the car for incorrect Non OEM part or an incorrect installation of that part or both.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2012, 09:08 PM
Robo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N. Virginia
Posts: 1,531
Photos: (14)
Thanks: 49
Thanked 103 Times in 79 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Originally Posted by THEM0DIFIER View Post
Just spit-ballin here. The remote +battery post located on the side of the TIPM is designed to be used for jump starting the vehicle. I don't understand how using this post for a + power source for the HID relay harness can have an affect on the TIPM. I can see how the previous comments about TIPM could apply if you tied directly into one of the fused power sources inside it. Agreed, electrical systems are much more complicated than they use to be. Am I missing something here? My 2cents, the sole cause is defective inferior components were installed.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App

True - but what was being used to activate the non-factory HIDs? I'm assuming a wire was attached to the original headlight wiring to turn on the ballasts? That would be the problem and any variance in current was not allowed for in the TIPM programming. Plus unplugging two 55 watt headlamps told the unit they were blown or not working. Doing that and hooking up a turn-on wire was probably why it went crazy... just a thought. If the TIPM isn't blown and the OEM headlights were restored then it might be fixable. Not sure but on other models the TIPM can be reset 3-5 times before it locks up permanently.

Last edited by Robo; 11-29-2012 at 09:20 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2012, 10:38 PM
SICKSPD's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 541
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Originally Posted by THEM0DIFIER View Post
Just spit-ballin here. The remote +battery post located on the side of the TIPM is designed to be used for jump starting the vehicle. I don't understand how using this post for a + power source for the HID relay harness can have an affect on the TIPM. I can see how the previous comments about TIPM could apply if you tied directly into one of the fused power sources inside it. Agreed, electrical systems are much more complicated than they use to be. Am I missing something here? My 2cents, the sole cause is defective inferior components were installed.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
this guy understands what I'm saying. i did not wire the power wire of the harness to a fuse located on the TIPM. nor did i hard wire the power wire into the stock harness. I attached the power wire to the jump location post thats under that small red cover to the left of the engine that goes to the battery.
__________________


Mods: Slammed on BC Coilovers - Plastidipped wheels - Flowtech "RedHot" glasspacks w/ resonators removed - Sequential taillights - 20% tint all around - Hurst shifter - Apexcone 6K HID Headlights 10k HID Fogs - personalized license plate "6 SPEED"

Last edited by SICKSPD; 11-29-2012 at 10:41 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2012, 04:24 AM
Robo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N. Virginia
Posts: 1,531
Photos: (14)
Thanks: 49
Thanked 103 Times in 79 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Originally Posted by SICKSPD View Post
this guy understands what I'm saying. i did not wire the power wire of the harness to a fuse located on the TIPM. nor did i hard wire the power wire into the stock harness. I attached the power wire to the jump location post thats under that small red cover to the left of the engine that goes to the battery.
Did you install a separate switch to turn on the HIDs? If a short occurred then it was transmitted into the TIPM unit through that connection. Or in some other car forums the ballasts can produce electrical induction into other wires near by and that can cause issues.

Last edited by Robo; 11-30-2012 at 04:27 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2012, 05:39 AM
R/T_6Speed's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,212
Photos: (6)
Thanks: 27
Thanked 39 Times in 34 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Originally Posted by SICKSPD View Post
So what are people doing differently that are running aftermarket hid kits in their challengers and not having this problem?
^this question...

Originally Posted by Yahooligan View Post
If you plan on adding multiple accessories then I would suggest running a properly-sized wire from the battery to an aftermarket fuse block mounted under the hood.
^this answer.

Relays are your friend. If you're going to be making modifications and additions the best thing to do is add an aftermarket fuse panel that gets its power from a direct source via a relay. One method is to use the Painless Performance Cirkit Boss system to essentially isolate the aftermarket wiring from the factory wiring. These types of systems usually mean you're going to draw something like 30mA from the factory system to trip a relay feeding the aftermarket fuse box from a direct power source (battery cable).

I have the Painless 3 fuse circuit under the hood. One circuit powers the pump for the intercooler, second circuit powers the LC-1 and gauges, the third will be used to power a meth injection pump. This type of system not only doesn't put an extra load on the TIPM but it also isolates the circuits to prevent a short on your aftermarket goodies from getting back to the TIPM and factory wiring.
__________________


'10 R/T 6 Speed // Magnuson Supercharged @ 8lbs // Hurst //
Areoforce duals // 0ther warranty voiding parts //
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to R/T_6Speed For This Useful Post:
snowcat256 (11-30-2012)
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2012, 11:31 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So you're saying connecting here is bad? Doesn't that connection go to the battery? It's what feeds power to the box?




Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums > General, Performance, and Technical > General Challenger Discussion > Challenger Issues & Problems

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Billet Fuse Box Cover Question 2BLU4U 6.4L / 392ci (2011 - ?) 6 06-20-2012 12:31 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.