Broken aux port - Page 2 - Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums
Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Challenger Forum
 

Auto Insurance

Wheel & Tire Center

» Featured Product
Go Back   Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums > General, Performance, and Technical > Audio, Video and other Car Electronics

Audio, Video and other Car Electronics Anything that pertains to the interior electronics modifications such as stereos, A/V, lighting...not exclusive to the Challenger please feel free to share

ChallengerTalk.com is the premier Dodge Challenger Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-10-2013, 07:52 PM
ceri's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 935
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 98 Times in 75 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
This seems like it will definitely be doable, but I only went so far into it. I plan to keep this socked away in the closet in case I sell the car and want to yank all my audio stuff out, so I have to keep it good.

Once you've got the head unit in hand, the faceplate comes off easiest. This is very good. You don't have to worry about messing up the CD player's alignment or anything else goofy.

Here's some pics:








Getting the faceplate off was a snap (literally). I did it with my hands. Grab the unit with the face down. Look around the inside edges of the faceplate's back and you'll see 3 little tabs per side. Just pull outward on the black plastic tabs until they unseat. Work around all of those and the faceplate will pull right off. Damn these Challengers were put together well. Everything I've done on them seems like it was well thought out for fixes down the road.

So in that last picture you can see there are about 8 hex head screws holding that circuit board to the plastic faceplate. I didn't undo those, but it should expose the AUX jack and then you can see what the problem is. It could be that the 5 little solder points on the back of the board (the side you CAN see in that last picture) broke. If that's the case, grab a small soldering iron at Radio Shack, some thin strand solder, and reattach them. I'd be surprised if it cost more than $20. If it's on the other side of the circuit board, be careful as you pull it free. There could be electrical connections that need to be unplugged. I'd recommend taking pictures of everything as you go so you can remember how to put it back together later.
__________________
2011 Toxic Orange R/T Classic Auto
Performance Mods: Diablo inTune I1000-DCX
Audio Mods: Pioneer AVH-X5500BHS, HelixDSP, Zed Audio Leviathan III, Dynaudio Esotec 362 (active), Zed Audio Minotaur II, 2x JL Audio 12w6v2s (sealed ~2.8 cu ft)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2013, 09:19 AM
RedKing's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 39
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Wow thanks for all the pics ceri. I'm going to try it today but I had one question, did you unhook the battery line in the back before you began?
__________________
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2013, 09:36 AM
ceri's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 935
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 98 Times in 75 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Originally Posted by RedKing View Post
Wow thanks for all the pics ceri. I'm going to try it today but I had one question, did you unhook the battery line in the back before you began?
I probably did. I always recommend unhooking the battery before messing with electrical. In this particular case it's probably not necessary, but it's still a good idea. In fact unhook the battery and then give it 10-15 minutes just so everything has a chance to discharge itself.

When you get done and hook it all back up, check to see if your windows do their little auto open auto close thing when you open the door. If not, you might have to reprogram the doors. That's not too difficult, but if they aren't auto opening/auto closing you'll want to fix that before you go driving around like that. Closing the door with the window in the full up position will wear out the door seal. I can find a link for you if you need it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2013, 02:02 PM
ceri's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 935
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 98 Times in 75 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Any luck RedKing?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2013, 04:11 PM
RedKing's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 39
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Originally Posted by ceri View Post
Any luck RedKing?
Sorry about the late reply, I have been busy with school and haven't had time to deal with this yet, but:

A guy I work with said he used to work at a dodge dealership, or a dodge "stealership" as he affectionately called it. He said people would come in all the time with this problem and that the head unit really was not a quality make. He also said that while it might be possible to open it up and push the pins back in place or solder them, the problem would probably come back in a matter of weeks. He recommended that I just buy a manufactured one off ebay, as dealerships will sell them to you for about $600.

I haven't had time to deal with anything like this yet but when I do I'll be able to use your pictures to guide me if I replace the unit or try and fix it, so thanks for that. I haven't decided on my next course though.

Last edited by RedKing; 02-04-2013 at 04:12 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2013, 06:39 PM
ceri's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 935
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 98 Times in 75 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
If the result is you need a new deck, buy aftermarket. You'll get a lot more for your money, and hopefully it will last you a lot longer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2013, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,632
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I have one if you want to make me an offer..
__________________


MECP Advanced Autotech

Audio Mods:
Alarm: Viper 5902
Head Unit: AppRadio 2
Front Stage (Fully Active):
Tweeters: Image Dynamics CD1-Pro Mini Horns
Amplifier: Kicker IX500.4 Bridged
Mid-Bass: Sundown Audio Neo 8"
Amplifier: Kicker IX500.4 Bridged
Processing: JBL MS-8
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2013, 08:23 PM
RedKing's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 39
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Originally Posted by ceri View Post
If the result is you need a new deck, buy aftermarket. You'll get a lot more for your money, and hopefully it will last you a lot longer.
That is a good idea. There are so many to choose from I will have to troll through all these threads.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2013, 08:24 PM
RedKing's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 39
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Originally Posted by the727kid View Post
I have one if you want to make me an offer..
Did you replace it with aftermarket? how old? and whereabouts the US do you live?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2013, 09:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,632
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yes, from a 2009, Tampa Bay area.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums > General, Performance, and Technical > Audio, Video and other Car Electronics

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Write-Up For Using UCI Port To Connect New iPhone/iPad/iPods To MyGig System shakedog Audio, Video and other Car Electronics 1 04-08-2013 04:59 PM
Another Port Question kln19772000 Audio, Video and other Car Electronics 12 12-22-2012 08:37 AM
Port Hole Location? blackchallenge How-To, DIY and Tips & Tricks 8 10-06-2012 10:04 PM
2009 6 speed broken stud on tranny mount bracket AnywhereT 6.1L (2008 - 2010) 11 09-13-2012 11:11 PM
Great iphone wire to our AUX CarbonBlack Audio, Video and other Car Electronics 7 08-22-2012 07:52 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.