How to hook up a sub to factory head unit,,Question for pros???? - Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums
Audio, Video and other Car Electronics Anything that pertains to the interior electronics modifications such as stereos, A/V, lighting...not exclusive to the Challenger please feel free to share

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-16-2013, 11:20 PM
Member
 
jcurrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: PE, Canada
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
How to hook up a sub to factory head unit,,Question for pros????

Hi,,, im still trying to find an answer to this million dollar question.
How to I get full range sound out of my factory system to hook my aftermarket sub up to. The factory sub leads dont contain low freq. a 12" sub needs.


2010 Challenger R/T, HEMI Orange, 6spd, Track Pak, Sound Group II, Leather

Mods:
-Bravado Wheels (pics soon to come)
-Mopar Cat-Back Exhaust
-Mopar Cold Air Intake
-Mopar Stainless Petals
-Hurst Short Shifter
-Street Edge Coilovers
-HPP Daytona style taillight cover
-Vvivd hood wrap
-Full length Strobe Stripes
-Nate's "Rebadge" emblems
-Script Side Badges
-Door Sill Guards
-Tinted
-Skip Shift Eliminator
jcurrie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 12:51 AM
Senior Member
 
sorbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 433
Thanks: 10
Thanked 94 Times in 64 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm not a pro but I just put this in my 2013 Jeep Rubicon and it is driving a 10" sub. Sounds great and is inexpensive. It is designed to work with amplified head units.
Amazon.com: Jl Audio Jx500/1d Mono Subwoofer Amplifier - 500 Watts RMS X 1 At 2 Ohms: Car Electronics Amazon.com: Jl Audio Jx500/1d Mono Subwoofer Amplifier - 500 Watts RMS X 1 At 2 Ohms: Car Electronics


---
2015 Hellcat - D1 12-28-14
Redline Red Tri-Coat Pearl - A8
2015 Fiat 500e Granite Crystal
2013 Jeep Rubicon
SOLD - 10 Brilliant Black Challenger R/T 6-spd - SOLD
*Eibach Pro Suspension
*Hurst short throw shifter
*Drake Strut Tower Brace
*Razors Edge Arched Rear Tower Brace
*Viper Wheels
*Corsa Extreme
*BT Catch Can
*K&N CAI
*Diablo

sorbs is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 06:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,632
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The factory sub in the rear deck will play as low as it can. If your subwoofer isn't getting low enough, try re-designing its enclosure.



MECP Advanced Autotech

Audio Mods:
Alarm: Viper 5902
Head Unit: AppRadio 2
Front Stage (Fully Active):
Tweeters: Image Dynamics CD1-Pro Mini Horns
Amplifier: Kicker IX500.4 Bridged
Mid-Bass: Sundown Audio Neo 8"
Amplifier: Kicker IX500.4 Bridged
Processing: JBL MS-8

Last edited by the727kid; 02-17-2013 at 06:29 PM.
the727kid is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 06:40 PM
Member
 
tdidi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Aroma Park, Il
Posts: 64
Thanks: 12
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Re: How to hook up a sub to factory head unit,,Question for pros????

That is a good question. Also does anyone know if there are sub leads if the factory system didn't come with one? I can't find them if they're there.

Sent from my VS920 4G using AutoGuide App

K&N CAI, Zoomers Cat Back exhaust, R1 concepts slotted and drilled rotors with posi quiet pads, Mopar hood struts, gorilla lugs, epoxy painted calipers, Tinted windows, LED interior lights and trunk light.

Tony
tdidi is online now  
#5 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 07:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Kingsland, GA
Posts: 57
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
also curious if the sub wiring is present in a car without a sub from the factory.
hiltu is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,632
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Pretty sure it isn't there, but if it is, its an empty circuit.

Last edited by the727kid; 02-17-2013 at 07:15 PM.
the727kid is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 02-20-2013, 12:03 AM
Senior Member
 
SacTownMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 326
Thanks: 2
Thanked 32 Times in 27 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am reading this as you want to add a sub to your factory system that doesn't have a sub line, Right? I am also assuming you want to add a amp/sub/enclosure as your goal

If you DON'T have a factory system with the Sub just tap the rear Left and Right speaker signal. It should be full range and easy to get access to. Input those into a Audio Control LC2i to pull off the sub signal that can then be amplified. If you do have the sub line you can still use the LC2i in the same way to add bass control and boost features.



Maybe if you provided some more details on what you are starting with it might make it easier to help.

Audio Mods
3200 Watts RMS!! Amps: Arc Audio KS 300.2, Rockford Fosgate T1500-bd and T600-4 Speakers:(2) 12" Audiomobile Elite 2212 Subs in 1.1 CF/side sealed enclosure, Focal 3-way Performance P165V33 Component Speakers (Front), Focal Polyglass Series 4" Coaxial (Center), Focal PS 165F Expert Series 2-way Component Speakers (Rear) Other: Audio Control LC8i processor, Custom Amp Rack and Cover with 24" x 14" Plexiglass Window, XS Power D3400 Power Cell, Lockpick V5 with Backup Camera

Last edited by SacTownMan; 02-20-2013 at 12:07 AM.
SacTownMan is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 05:54 PM
Member
 
jcurrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: PE, Canada
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
NO NO,,,,guys lets not confuse things here....
i have a stock stereo BRZ with a factory sub.
I ran in-line rca converters to my rear sub to hook to an additional kenwood amp thats feeding a alpine sub.
My hunch is that the stock rear sub is fed with a built in crossover somewhere in the stock amp or deck....which intern feeds the stock sub only limited frequency's.

I know this because my same aftermarket amp and sub in another car with an aftermarket radio works like twice as good. Especially on the really low bass. These stock subs are small... there is no way its being fed full frequency range.
Does anyone here understand the concept of what I mean..... is anyone able to use a meter of some sort to see the range of freq the stock sub leads put out?

Last edited by jcurrie; 07-10-2013 at 05:58 PM.
jcurrie is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 07-12-2013, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
 
SacTownMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 326
Thanks: 2
Thanked 32 Times in 27 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Take your sub line and feed it into one side of the LC2i. It will use the Accubass circuitry to clean up the signal and boost the bass level. It worked perfectly with my SGII factory sub connection until I replaced it with the LC8i.

If you have a factory sub line it would be cut off at the high end and should have plenty of bottom end signal. The only thing is the factory system might roll off the bass signal at higher volume to protect the crappy factory speaker but the LC2i is specifically made for just this problem. Get the bass control knob they sell and you will be amazed at the sound you get. It is the first and last approach for adding an aftermarket sub you should try.

I have both the LC2i and the bass control unit if you are interested send me a PM.
SacTownMan is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 08-20-2013, 07:42 PM
Member
 
jcurrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: PE, Canada
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Does anyone know if our cars have bass "roll off" at higher levels. It kinda seems like it to me.
jcurrie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums > General, Performance, and Technical > Audio, Video and other Car Electronics

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing an Aftermarket Head Unit ceri Audio, Video and other Car Electronics 27 03-31-2014 02:22 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome