Radio and Nav map update dvd's arrived in mail today - Page 5 - Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums
Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Challenger Forum
 

» Featured Product
Auto Insurance

Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums > General, Performance, and Technical > Audio, Video and other Car Electronics

Audio, Video and other Car Electronics Anything that pertains to the interior electronics modifications such as stereos, A/V, lighting...not exclusive to the Challenger please feel free to share

ChallengerTalk.com is the premier Dodge Challenger Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2012, 12:27 AM
Havoc51's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 478
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 94
Thanked 121 Times in 85 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Originally Posted by SoCal Classic View Post
I have a frozen 730 ... I have the black screen with the Dodge Uconnect on it. I did the radio update yesterday with no issue. I tried to do the navigation update today and after it started to updated it did a reboot then froze. I guess I will head to the dealer in the morning to see if they can help.
I had this exact problem, went to the dealer and the trim guy disconnected the battery for 2 minutes, reconnected it (this was with the ignition in the accessory position the whole time) ,as soon as the battery was reconnected the radio came up and started the update. Waited until it finished (only took about 30 minutes) and all is well.
__________________


2012 Redline Pearl SRT8 392 6 Speed
SpeedLogix/ZOOMERS Catback Exhaust
SpeedLogix 87mm ported Throttle Body
SpeedLogix 180 Thermostat
SpeedLogix Catch Can (Red)
SpeedLogix Strut Tower Brace
SpeedLogix Trufiber Cuda II Hood
DiabloSport Trinity T1000 91 Octane Performance Tune
Escort Passport 9500iX with Blendmount/Mirrortap
WebElectric Sequential Taillights
MOPAR Hood Pins
MOPAR Splash Guards
DRLs Enabled

2012 Tungsten Metallic R/T Auto (Traded in for SRT8)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Havoc51 For This Useful Post:
SoCal Classic (12-06-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2012, 04:51 AM
rscarawa's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 725
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My update worked fine. I live on 18 acres of land, with the car parked in the middle. When I put in a destination, it was initially confused since my car was 600' from the nearest road and could not calculate a route. Once I got on a secondary road, it determined a route.

I have not tested all the features though but I did reset my home address. We will see if it remembers it longer than two weeks this time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2012, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,476
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 127
Thanked 263 Times in 201 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Originally Posted by Havoc51 View Post
I had this exact problem, went to the dealer and the trim guy disconnected the battery for 2 minutes, reconnected it (this was with the ignition in the accessory position the whole time) ,as soon as the battery was reconnected the radio came up and started the update. Waited until it finished (only took about 30 minutes) and all is well.
Mine still says:

Navigation is being activated...

Perhaps I should try this trick to see if I can move the process along or just revert back to the old maps and just leave it. Sadly it's just not realistic to assume anyone at my local dealership will have a better idea of how to fix it.
__________________
'12 Challenger SRT8 Pitch Black 6-speed, stripe delete, all options
-BT catch can, skip shift eliminator, Mopar intake, Hurst/Mopar short throw pistol grip, BB's resonater delete, Jet 180 t-stat, ceramic tint/clear bra/C-Quartz
13.56@104.38 DA 7170 - that's 12.33@114.45 corrected!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2012, 02:12 PM
SoCal Classic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Anaheim, CA.
Posts: 93
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
UPDATE!!!!! I didn't go to the dealership this morning with my frozen 730. I was driving to work this afternoon and it started working. It shows that the update was complete. Crazy!!!!!
__________________



2012 Dodge Challenger R/T Classic in Bright White with Red side stripes. BT door sills, BT Oil Cap, BT Radiator Cap, BT A/C Valve Cap, BT Window Washer Cap, Blastin Bobs resonator delete added to make it sound like a beast. Now features the very 1st Edelbrock E-Force Supercharger for the 2011+ 5.7!!!

Born June 2012
Foster Care provided by McPeeks Dodge Anaheim
Adopted October 2012
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2012, 03:00 PM
YO-EL's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Phila Suburbs
Posts: 705
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 30
Thanked 81 Times in 54 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not doing the update..
Always issues with these in past vehicles..
I drive local, but even on longer trips on other cars, I've checked the route in the Challenger Nav & it routes the same.

Also paper with the disc says complimentary must be requested by 12/31/12..

My disc says "2013 Navigation Map Update" only.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2012, 04:04 PM
rscarawa's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 725
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Originally Posted by YO-EL View Post
Not doing the update..
Always issues with these in past vehicles..
I drive local, but even on longer trips on other cars, I've checked the route in the Challenger Nav & it routes the same.

Also paper with the disc says complimentary must be requested by 12/31/12..

My disc says "2013 Navigation Map Update" only.

Did you not get two disks in the package? I did. One was for system update and the other for map update.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2012, 04:31 PM
YO-EL's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Phila Suburbs
Posts: 705
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 30
Thanked 81 Times in 54 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Originally Posted by rscarawa View Post
Did you not get two disks in the package? I did. One was for system update and the other for map update.
Box says contains 2 DVD's..
So maybe one is for the head unit.. (still not doing it)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2012, 06:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,476
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 127
Thanked 263 Times in 201 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pulling my battery cable did not solve the problem, my screen still says:

Navigation is being activated...

Next step will be to re-run the install disc I guess. I have a few days off next week and will run over to the dealer if the problem is still not solved.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2012, 08:54 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
FYI here's a great site for firmware updates. I downloaded fixes for my radio a while ago. I have a 730N RHR Fixed a bunch of issues I was having. Also if you have an older firmware you'll get a bunch of new features like weather maps etc...

http://mofv.com/mygig/

Last edited by ChallengerJim; 12-06-2012 at 08:54 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2012, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,476
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 127
Thanked 263 Times in 201 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I ran the navigation update disc again - and now it works!!!

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU

Whew...back to normal life now lol.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums > General, Performance, and Technical > Audio, Video and other Car Electronics

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade from factory radio to nav radio element012 Audio, Video and other Car Electronics 11 09-22-2012 07:47 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:45 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.