Dodge Challenger Forum banner

2015 Dodge Hellcat, Should I go Stick or Automatic

79K views 386 replies 95 participants last post by  hemipowerv8 
#1 ·
This may be a stupid question... but I have just put a deposit on the new Hellcat, I am going in to customize it on August 1st. I was wondering if I should go manual or automatic. I know that manual would be much more fun, but will it be as fast? Especially if I am not an expert at it. What do y'all think the advantages and disadvantages are?

#7 ·
As a 6-spd guy I agree with the above and with this much power I would go automatic.

Also the Hellcat has revised transmission and axle ratios compared to the SRT 392 and will put even more strain on the clutch during dragstrip launches, see below:

Attachments

#128 · (Edited)
As a 6-spd guy I agree with the above and with this much power I would go automatic.

Also the Hellcat has revised transmission and axle ratios compared to the SRT 392 and will put even more strain on the clutch during dragstrip launches, see below:

A manual guy through and through... but would probably go with the Auto here.
The only reason is... I just don't get the change to 6th gear,... just so 5 guys out of thousands can use 6th at the salt flats?

I'd rather it was still .50 This pig will still have tons of torque at 1500rpm!!!!
So if the Auto can live with 1.76 final... then the 6sp could have lived with a 1.85 final.
I'm just not thrilled about turning an extra 400 rpm at highway cruising speeds for hours on end...
Just so 3 Magazine reviewers could take their test car to the Texas Mile. "ONCE".
I just don't see any good reason for that 2.33 6spd final ratio... besides handing the Gov more Gas Guzzler $$

#8 ·
1/4 mile the car? Auto. DD the car to/from work with traffic? Auto. Don't "need" the car for DD but will drive WHEN you want? Manual. Maybe take it to the track once just to see? Manual. Me? Manual.

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

Reactions: RobF
#11 · (Edited)
#12 ·
#17 ·