Dodge Challenger Forum banner

Catch can

23K views 118 replies 46 participants last post by  15R/T 
#1 ·
What is the purpose of this? I'm new to all this so excuse me for not knowing. I just wonder why I need this for a brand new 40 something grand car.

#2 ·
A catch can mounts in line with the PCV system in your car. it helps to catch oil and oil vapors that normally are not removed while traveling through the pcv system. The late model Hemi is notorious for excess oil blow by, and this oil makes its way through the pcv and ends up back in your intake. The effect long term is oil build up in the intake, and throttle body. Therefore many owners chose to add a catch can to catch this excess oil before it routes back to the intake.

We carry several options that will work for your scat pack, let us know if we can help

#10 ·
Race cars typically dont have a PVC system on them, normally just vent to the atmosphere, which can be messy. The average person in the average car who never shifts over 2000 rpm and seldom runs high rpm frequently or for extended periods will see much less need for a catch can, the system will not pass that much oil. High rpm blasts cause larger amounts of oil vapor in the crankcase which will put more through the vent system. Oil in the intake is no big deal, its just passing through. Small amounts in the combustion chambers is no super big deal for a daily driver. It gets to be a bigger deal for those concerned about max performance and controlling detonation.

#11 · (Edited)
I'm of the school of thought that a can can't hurt and might help, but some quick math with some assumptions:

Assume in a 6000 mile oil change interval the can captures 2oz (~4 TBS) of oil.
With an approximate range of 300 miles per tank, that equates to ~20 tanks of gas, or slightly less than 400 gallons (400 gallons = 51200 ounces)