Dodge Challenger Forum banner

MDS Not Activating Today

4K views 16 replies 9 participants last post by  lando981 
#1 ·
I'm new to the world of MDS, so I'm somewhat concerned by this. I usually keep my center display on fuel economy. I can tell when MDS kicks in and out and the center display shows "4 Cyl". Yesterday, the system work fine. This morning on my way to work, the system never activated. I purposely drove very easy at around 60 mph and it stayed running on 8.

This was using normal operating mode. I did a few test pulls and the car runs fine. I'm not getting any MIL's either.

I know a solenoid drives the activation.... I'm wondering if it failed. Seems like that would set a MIL though. I will see if it works going home today. If not, I will reset the PCM. I actually like MDS at times and I got great gas mileage driving the car home (25.5 mpg per the display during break-in). I'm still averaging 22 mpg driving normal / semi-aggressive.

#2 ·
Are you in auto stick mode? If so, it disables the MDS. That's what happens at least on my 2014 but I'd assume it's the same for 2015.

#3 ·
As Brent said, there are a couple things that deactivate it. Putting the transmission in manual shift will do it. Putting the transmission in Sport mode (Scat Pack ) or Track mode (SRT) will deactivate it as well. Did you do either of those things?

Also, keep in mind that it will only run for a certain length of time in 4 cyl mode before kicking back to 8 for some length of time. I think the "timeout" is 6 minutes (at least it used to be pre-2015) and then it runs on all 8 for a few minutes to equalize heat. So it's possible you were just in a "shutoff" time period too.