Dodge Challenger Forum banner

How many MPG do you guys get on ur SXTs?

7K views 31 replies 17 participants last post by  tvo9 
#1 · (Edited)
I just got a SXT Plus and I drive it in city mostly.

I get 19 MPG in city. Going for a long ride this weekend so I will come to know the highway MPG too.

Just wondering what to expect, btw I am an easy driver most of the time.. :wink3:

#3 ·
20 in the City. And that's about 95% city. 5% HWY. And with spirited driving in the mix ;)

Reactions: TheLastOne
#7 ·
Got 31.8 @ 80 MPH with AC on when I brought mine home from the dealer. So far about 27 average non interstate travel. I live in a rural area though, so not much city driving for me. I do drive at 4600+ in elevation also.

#10 ·
I'm getting 22mpg city. Mostly 45 mph zones, suburban "city" driving. With some spirited spurts here and there.

#15 ·
Mine is a SXT Plus with 20" rims. Still getting 21.9 MPG in suburban driving. I would think the bigger tires would get (ever so slightly) better mpg?

#16 ·
Bigger wheel = more metal = more weight to spin = less mpg over a smaller wheel

#18 ·
That would be true as long as overall circumference is the same and gearing then remains the same. The weight between them has to be realatively marginal though, right? That's kinda like pointing out you get better mpg when your car has a 1/8 tank vs. a full tank. Or if you have a fat or skinny passenger or no passenger....or if you had a big lunch.

Yes, weight all adds up to "something" that affects mpg.

#17 ·
How about if I lift my butt off the car seat as I drive, will that make the car lighter and get me better mpg? :)

#21 ·
When I was at highway speeds, the instant fuel economy did show 30 mpg when maintaining speed. What was better is when you let off the gas, it jumps to 80-90 mpg! Of course this is only "instant mileage" which only accounts for the gas being used and the speed of the car. As soon as you put your foot back on the gas pedal, it "drops" to the 30 mpg again.