Instrument Cluster illumination - Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums
Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Challenger Forum
 

Auto Insurance

Wheel & Tire Center

» Featured Product
Go Back   Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums > General, Performance, and Technical > Interior Discussion / Modifications

Interior Discussion / Modifications If you are interested in modifying your Dodge Challenger's interior, this is the place to talk about it.

ChallengerTalk.com is the premier Dodge Challenger Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2012, 06:15 AM
Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 16
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Instrument Cluster illumination

My auto on lights do not come on late enough in am to allow me to see the speedometer at dawn. Is it possible to modify the power to the instrument cluster so it stays on all the time? Has anyone done that? I think it should have been wired that way from new, just as my Tundra is.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2012, 06:48 AM
mjb4450's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tucson (it's a dry heat) AZ
Posts: 1,613
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 364
Thanked 542 Times in 292 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Originally Posted by rogelling View Post
My auto on lights do not come on late enough in am to allow me to see the speedometer at dawn. Is it possible to modify the power to the instrument cluster so it stays on all the time? Has anyone done that? I think it should have been wired that way from new, just as my Tundra is.
The hidden EVIC menu has a function to adjust when headlights go on or off based on outside lumens. You have to manipulate the buttons on the steering wheel a certain way to access the hidden menu. I don't rfecall offhand exactly how. Someone please chime in if you know how.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2012, 07:11 AM
Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 16
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I wondered if that was the case! I hope someone comes through with the info, thanks in advance.


2012 R/T Classic Blue streak pearl, 6MT, Einbach sways, front strut brace, 2-4 shift bypass.

Last edited by rogelling; 12-04-2012 at 07:13 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2012, 07:26 AM
Hydroid's Avatar
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Port Perry, Ontario
Posts: 158
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 26
Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
From another thread on here:

Adjusted the Threshold of my HID Auto headlights
__________________
Regards, John



Silver stripes - 245/255 Goodyears - Aluminum Rims
Interior appearance group - 730N Nav - HK Premium Audio
Mods (so far):
Gorilla "The System" locking lug nuts - MOPAR splash guards
SpeedLogix Catchcan - Skip Shift eliminator - MOPAR Sequential Tail-Lights
MOPAR front & rear strut braces - Spare Tire Kit by Performance Spare
Raised White Letters by Tredwear.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2012, 09:50 AM
Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 16
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Thanks John, I will try it tonight. Half an hour before sun up sounds about right.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2012, 10:48 AM
Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 16
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
OK John, I went and check the car and I do not have either a music button nor a compass button. I have cruise control buttons on the right and bluetooth buttons on the left plus the EVIC menu and scroll keys. Now what?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2012, 06:15 PM
Hydroid's Avatar
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Port Perry, Ontario
Posts: 158
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 26
Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I believe the buttons are different for newer years. My 2012 has buttons on the left side of the steering wheel as shown in the thumbnail photo. The buttons I use to access the extended menus are the up and down arrow buttons (bottom two on left side). You have to be in the screen showing the outside temperature to start the access procedure. If you're not in that screen, press the lower right button on the left side repeatedly until you are. Once in the temperature display screen, hold down the up arrow key for 10 seconds (I find the thousand count works great - as in one one thousand, two one thousand, three one thousand...), then release and immediately hold the down arrow for 5 seconds. When you let go of the down button after the 5 count, you should be in the extended menus. I sometimes have to try this a few times to get it right. Then, use the up or down buttons to get to the different screens.

Note that I've only ever 'looked' at the info in these screens, never changed anything, so I can't speak to the method of changing values.

Hope this helps.
Attached Thumbnails
Instrument Cluster illumination-image.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2012, 06:22 AM
Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 16
Photos: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Thanks again, I found the procedure on youtube and did it last night. This am the lights were on perfect! I set my value to 162. You can only increase the value but when it reaches max, it resets to 152. I believe it was originally at 237.

Thanks to all. Love this car, I think I'll be buried in it hopefully not until I'm done with more mods!

Last edited by rogelling; 12-05-2012 at 06:24 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums > General, Performance, and Technical > Interior Discussion / Modifications

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dodge Challenger TSB's 2008-2014 Models ResumeSpeed Technical Service Bulletins & Recalls 78 07-14-2013 12:46 PM
Changing Speedometer Cluster RT6SPD Interior Discussion / Modifications 11 11-01-2012 07:33 AM
INSTRUMENT Cluster Warrenty ENVY RT Interior Discussion / Modifications 3 09-21-2012 10:24 AM
Dead bug in instrument cluster... thisisnotahonda Challenger Issues & Problems 6 09-04-2012 11:08 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.