Why Hemi?? - Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums
General Challenger Discussion This section contains general discussion about the Dodge Challenger. If it does not fit into a more specific area, it probably belongs in here. (Dodge Challenger General Discussion)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 06-27-2010, 03:07 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Why Hemi??

I'm new to Mopars, having had a long time affair with mostly Fords and one '07 Mustang GT. I can appreciate the fine engines in both makes but I am interested in knowing how the Hemi engines in our R/Ts and SRT8s compare with Fords modular performance engines and Chevy's more performance oriented engines. What benefits are there in one make over the other and how do they compare reliability wise? Just curious cause I know there's lots of long time Mopar owners and I'd really like to hear what they have to say. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 06-27-2010, 08:45 PM

Hope this helps...

The Hemi has been around for a long, long time in various forms. Early Triumph motorcycles used this design in 1937 and continued using it up until 1988. Chrysler borrowed ideas for their design from Weslake which built speed parts for Bonneville salt flat racers. Chrysler really utilized it best in automobiles in the early fifties and it's still the all time power king in racing. A drag racing blown hemi produces in excess of 6000 horsepower which is many times what anything else is capable of producing.

The hemi has four main advantages:

1) The spark plug(s) reside directly in the middle and top of the combustion chamber. This makes for a nice, even firing pattern. This is why Hemi engines have spark plug holes right in the middle of the valve covers. Other "wedge" engines like Chevy and Ford V-8's have their spark plugs off-center which is cheaper to build but less efficient.