Direct Fuel Injection - Page 2 - Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums
Articles - Engine, Other Everything else relating to engines

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-21-2013, 05:13 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i know this is a old post but DI is superior for fuel milage,emissions as well as power. and yes you do get oil build up on the valves as well as carbon. im a diesel mechanic for 25 yrs and have seen the evolution of DI. from its simplest form to todays systems its a beast. but with that said we still have power loss due to carbon/oil build up on valves.. till we can figure out a way to do away with lubricating the valve stem or removing valve completely this will always be a issue. it just needs to be a common practice to do a motorvac or equivalent procedure to take care of the issue.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 04:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by killerride View Post
i know this is a old post but DI is superior for fuel milage,emissions as well as power. and yes you do get oil build up on the valves as well as carbon. im a diesel mechanic for 25 yrs and have seen the evolution of DI. from its simplest form to todays systems its a beast. but with that said we still have power loss due to carbon/oil build up on valves.. till we can figure out a way to do away with lubricating the valve stem or removing valve completely this will always be a issue. it just needs to be a common practice to do a motorvac or equivalent procedure to take care of the issue.
From what I am reading, not all DI has carbon buildup issues on the valves. For instance, I have heard that GM's version does not. Seems like a problem more with the VW/Audi design than a DI design issue.
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 04:44 PM
Lifetime Premium Member

Thanked 1,141 Times in 793 Posts
Garage