8 degrees of st knock from 4500 to 6300rpm - Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums
Tuning/Data Use this section for tuning and tune/data related devices (ie. handhelds, data recorders, gauges)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-07-2019, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
8 degrees of st knock from 4500 to 6300rpm

I have a 2005 dodge magnum rt. new to this site wondering if someone could help. I just installed heads, cam on my 5.7 I went with xfi260h13 from comp cams with the beehive valve springs, diamond power valves, new valve seals, ported heads port to match, comps hi tech push rods, timing chain set, shorty headers, water pump, 180 tstat, all new bolts and gaskets full exhausts, 3.90 gear, 27-10-15 Hoosier slicks, 150 nx wet shot.


The problem I am having is and 4500 to 6300 when it shifts I am getting 8.5 of st knock and nothing i do seems to fix the problem I have zip tied any loose parts that may have been tapping the engine. I have also put 2 bottles of octane booster in to make around 98 octane didn’t not seem to help a bit and replace both knock sensor with standard. Went through checks all my rockers and pushrods again and changed oil Hemifever added fuel and pulled timing nothing seems to help still have st knock at high rpm under load only
05magnumrt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
ChallyTatum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The state where 4 out of 7 former Governors went to jail
Posts: 4,029
Thanks: 377
Thanked 888 Times in 746 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Are you running a wideband? If not, you really should especially if you are throwing 150 shot at the motor.

I wonder if it is drivetrain noise? I know the earlier challengers have a rubber coupler at both ends of the prop shaft that weakens over time.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2015 Challenger RT+ (non-STP)
8lb Magnuson w/ Innovate PSB-1 wideband/boost/shift light gauge
Corsa extreme (2.5")
4" Aluminum one-piece driveshaft
Hellcat bottom airbox
Stainless Works LT headers (2" primaries)
Barton shifter assembly w/ Lou's short shaft and Speed Dawg knob
Comp Cam 7929 & 7748 push rods (gives slightly more lifter preload)
A2speed aluminum coil and valve covers (built in catchcan)
ChallyTatum is offline  
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 08:03 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
I do not have a wide band but my car shows its at 11.8 af at wot I haven’t ran the 150 shot sense my cam and heads just trying to tune for na but as far as the driveshaft damper they look good I replaced the rear 3 times now I get a horrible wobble on acceleration when they go bad, I forgot to mention i also replaced my lifters with non mds and have a balancer on the way the stock one looks like the rubber inside is coming out in areas
05magnumrt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 08:15 AM
Senior Member
 
ChallyTatum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The state where 4 out of 7 former Governors went to jail
Posts: 4,029
Thanks: 377
Thanked 888 Times in 746 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05magnumrt View Post
I do not have a wide band but my car shows its at 11.8 af at wot I haven’t ran the 150 shot sense my cam and heads just trying to tune for na but as far as the driveshaft damper they look good I replaced the rear 3 times now I get a horrible wobble on acceleration when they go bad, I forgot to mention i also replaced my lifters with non mds and have a balancer on the way the stock one looks like the rubber inside is coming out in areas
How are you seeing AFR if you don't have a wideband?

If it is commanded AFR that you are looking at, there is no guarantee that the you truly are getting 11.8 without using a wideband to confirm.
ChallyTatum is offline  
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 08:47 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Im looking at my data logs with diablo. I got a new tune sent to me today if this doesn’t work Ill go ahead and order a wide band and gauge thanks
05magnumrt is offline  
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
It shows desired afr I looked at the logs before cam install and it showed 11.25 at wot now after cam 11.81 at wot
05magnumrt is offline  
post #7 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
ChallyTatum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The state where 4 out of 7 former Governors went to jail
Posts: 4,029
Thanks: 377
Thanked 888 Times in 746 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05magnumrt View Post
It shows desired afr I looked at the logs before cam install and it showed 11.25 at wot now after cam 11.81 at wot
Yup that is what the PCM is commanding based off power enrichment table, but without a wideband you don't know if that is actually being delivered.
ChallyTatum is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to ChallyTatum For This Useful Post:
Flat Top (04-12-2019)
post #8 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 01:33 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Yeah the new tune that was sent this morning didn’t fix it still getting 8.5 degrees of knock
05magnumrt is offline  
post #9 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
ChallyTatum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The state where 4 out of 7 former Governors went to jail
Posts: 4,029
Thanks: 377
Thanked 888 Times in 746 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just out of curiosity are you still running a stock fuel pump?
ChallyTatum is offline  
post #10 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 02:21 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Yes I’ve never had replace the fuel pump
05magnumrt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums > General, Performance, and Technical > Performance Modifications > Tuning/Data

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using HP Tuners Pector55 Tuning/Data 94 04-06-2019 04:25 PM
Octane, Knock & Performance DTru Performance Modifications 27 10-17-2018 01:54 PM
Clank, Clatter, Knock - 392 Engine Noise rayzazoo Challenger Issues & Problems 59 04-07-2015 05:24 PM
what is knock? chrisrt Performance Modifications 1 01-17-2015 10:40 PM
Probably dumb questions about knock and datalogging RallyeRingo Tuning/Data 8 01-11-2015 08:41 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome