New 2019 Challenger r/t 5.7 - Advice or Help - Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-26-2019, 09:01 AM Thread Starter

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
New 2019 Challenger r/t 5.7 - Advice or Help

I’m new to challenger family and looking for some advice. I’ve always wanted a muscle car and after years of talking myself out of it, I finally pulled the trigger and bought a new challenger. I toyed with the idea of buying a used but decided in the end to purchase new. Not knowing anything about these cars personally and watching hours of reviews of Challenger, Mustang and Camaro I decided this car fit me best. Took it for a test drive and loved how it drove and looked. There were a couple of things during my test drive that didn’t seem right but salesperson didn’t seem concerned and said he thought this was normal or couldn’t hear it. First, the exhaust. At about 2k rpm or so I heard a rattle. It took a way from the awesome sound. Seemed odd but thought it was just me. As I never drove one before. Then, the ticking that I could hear from inside the car. I thought it was the radio or something from dash but then noticed it changed with car revs. Asked the dealer and he didn’t seem to hear it and said it was normal. Anyway, in the end I loved the car and chalked it up as me not knowing anything about these type cars and I got it. I drove drove it home from dealer which was about a 3 hours drive. Was proud and happy and loved it! I did still hear these things and they really bugged me but thought this was all in my head. Fast forward a couple of days and I started thinking this can’t be right, a new car with these sounds can’t be by design. Surely that’s why people by these, the way it looks, drives and sounds. So I went to trusty google. Turns out the exhaust thing isn’t normal. Pulled the 36 fuse with exhaust opened and bingo. No more rattling! I somehow have to explain this to th