WHY can't I clear a CEL (P0456) on 2011 SRT8?? - Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-06-2019, 09:24 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
11srt8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: SINY
Posts: 84
Thanks: 100
Thanked 34 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
WHY can't I clear a CEL (P0456) on 2011 SRT8??

WHY can't I clear a CEL (P0456) on 2011 SRT8??

Owned this car over a year, and it picks TODAY, the day I need to get an inspection sticker to throw it's first CEL. Are you Fin kidding me? Scanned it, P0456 evap code loose gas cap, probably my own fault since I pump my own gas. NP I'll just clear it with my scanner, put 50 miles on it on a beautiful 65 degree day and get the inspection later. WIN WIN right? WRONG!!!

Neither my scanner, nor the Diablo will clear the dam code. WTF??? I have successfully used my scanner on dozens of cars...never seen it fail.

Yes, I am aware I could simply disco the battery for a bit but don't really feel like reprogramming everything - Bluetooth, etc.

Also learned that remote start gets shut down after 3 seconds with a 'fuel related' CEL. GRRRRRR
11srt8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-06-2019, 11:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 588
Thanks: 8
Thanked 57 Times in 35 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is is stored as a permanent code? If you can't clear it, I suspect it must be. This indicates that the leak still exists and the computer must see three fault free operating cycled before the code will clear. I think you can also do a dtc clear then only need on fault free operating cycle. This is so you can't get around cel issues for inspections by disconnecting the battery or clearing the code.
KDodge75 is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-07-2019, 05:03 AM
Senior Member
 
SRT8 Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Palm Coast Fl.
Posts: 651
Thanks: 68
Thanked 124 Times in 98 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Key on engine off? Most Mopar the engine can’t be running to clear engine codes.
SRT8 Mike is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to SRT8 Mike For This Useful Post:
A Guy (04-07-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-07-2019, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
ChallyTatum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The state where 4 out of 7 former Governors went to jail
Posts: 4,029
Thanks: 377
Thanked 888 Times in 746 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Permanent codes cannot be cleared by scanners/readers. Only the PCM itself can clear them once the evap monitor runs and achieves the pass criteria.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	monitor.JPG
Views:	132
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	943029   Click image for larger version

Name:	monitor 2.JPG
Views:	24
Size:	80.2 KB
ID:	943031  


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2015 Challenger RT+ (non-STP)
8lb Magnuson w/ Innovate PSB-1 wideband/boost/shift light gauge
Corsa extreme (2.5")
4" Aluminum one-piece driveshaft
Hellcat bottom airbox
Stainless Works LT headers (2" primaries)
Barton shifter assembly w/ Lou's short shaft and Speed Dawg knob
Comp Cam 7929 & 7748 push rods (gives slightly more lifter preload)
A2speed aluminum coil and valve covers (built in catchcan)

Last edited by ChallyTatum; 04-07-2019 at 08:29 AM.
ChallyTatum is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-07-2019, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
SRT8 Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Palm Coast Fl.
Posts: 651
Thanks: 68
Thanked 124 Times in 98 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChallyTatum View Post
Permanent codes cannot be cleared by scanners/readers. Only the PCM itself can clear them once the evap monitor runs and achieves the pass criteria.
Where does it state it can’t be reset by a scanner? I can reset any codes on almost any car with my Snap On Solus . If the criteria is not met it may not reset. But it will reset and codes. Especially on Chrysler. Through the scanner you can do what they call a battery disconnect without disconnecting the battery or a complete reset which will scan every code in every module and clear them.
SRT8 Mike is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-07-2019, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
ChallyTatum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The state where 4 out of 7 former Governors went to jail
Posts: 4,029
Thanks: 377
Thanked 888 Times in 746 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRT8 Mike View Post
Where does it state it can’t be reset by a scanner? I can reset any codes on almost any car with my Snap On Solus . If the criteria is not met it may not reset. But it will reset and codes. Especially on Chrysler. Through the scanner you can do what they call a battery disconnect without disconnecting the battery or a complete reset which will scan every code in every module and clear them.
Again, "permanent" codes cannot be cleared by scanners.

https://www.autoserviceworld.com/car...ermanent-dtcs/
https://www.motor.com/magazine-summa...erify-repairs/

Next time you try to clear a code, check if it is listed as permanent...I guarantee your Solus or even a dealership tool will not be able to clear the code.

Even HP tuners brings this to everyone's attention
https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...ight=permanent

This is why if you have fairly strict emissions in your state that you need to rethink your decision to run cat-less as no amount of disabling DTCs will get rid of O2/Cat codes and there is absolutely nothing you can do about it...except to put the cats back.

Last edited by ChallyTatum; 04-07-2019 at 09:30 AM.
ChallyTatum is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-07-2019, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 983
Thanks: 0
Thanked 221 Times in 183 Posts
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
As others have mentioned the code could be permanent. In this case it can only be cleared by the engine controller after so many warm up cycles with the error condition absent.


A permanent code should not have the CEL on.



Don't know if the presence of a permanent code will have the vehicle failing an inspection.



If the CEL is on though the code is not a permanent code but an active code. And you can clear it but as soon as the engine is started the error condition is detected and the CEL comes right back on with the same error code.
Rockster is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-07-2019, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
ChallyTatum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The state where 4 out of 7 former Governors went to jail
Posts: 4,029
Thanks: 377
Thanked 888 Times in 746 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anything Evap is emissions monitored...hence a permanent code. If you read the first image I posted you will see the fail does not reset until the system sees a valid condition. I am pretty sure the evap monitor shows incomplete. In IL you are allowed 1 incomplete monitor on vehicles 2001 and newer.


Last edited by ChallyTatum; 04-07-2019 at 10:59 AM.
ChallyTatum is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-07-2019, 01:02 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
11srt8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: SINY
Posts: 84
Thanks: 100
Thanked 34 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Looks like my Diablo worked. Think I just needed it to be in IGNITION mode but NOT running. Thanks for the input!
11srt8 is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 04:53 PM
Junior Member
 
turbotato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: PA - Pennsylvania
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Make sure your PCM is IM-ready before you take it in for inspection...otherwise they will not be able to inspect it. IM-readiness prevents the "clear the code and take it to be inspected" trick from happening. Some cars can be a PITA to clear IM-readiness...I've seen it take hundreds of miles of driving to reset the monitors. Most good scan tools will have an IM-readiness scanning capability. Good Luck!
turbotato is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums > General, Performance, and Technical > General Challenger Discussion > Challenger Issues & Problems

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Challenger Forum: Challenger & SRT8 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019 Challenger information thread ResumeSpeed General Challenger Discussion 600 02-19-2019 06:34 AM
New Site Upgrade and Look Feedback Thread AG Jeff ChallengerTalk.com Website Problems 253 07-26-2017 08:54 AM
Unable to start a new thread Yahooligan ChallengerTalk.com Website Problems 9 10-13-2016 08:16 AM
8 Speed for GC SRT Go Goody The Garage: For OTHER car talk 5 07-20-2013 06:21 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome