Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had my scat pack for a couple months now and haven't had the opportunity to get it to a drag strip yet:( closest to a strip was an airport runway in the high Nevada desert for a weekend race. I'm wondering how much of a difference I can expect when I get it on a prepped track? At DA of 9500 in the desert with no prep on the runway I was able to run a 13.9 at 102 mph in 1/4 with an ugly 5.1 0-60, back in the sf Bay Area I've been able to pull down 4.5, 4.6 0-60's when playing on deserted highways and a best in car timer of 12.9 at 108. YES I'm still learning the clutch / gas peddle dance !!

·
Registered
850 Posts
You will not get any 0-60 times at a drag strip but the car is pretty accurate. Probably more accurate than you can do with a stopwatch. You will find your speedometer is also pretty accurate but keep in mind speeds at the track are measured over a 66 foot distance so it's kind of an average around 33 feet before you cross the finish line. The ET from the car is probably more accurate than the track for one reason. The car does not give you a rolling start like the track does if you stage shallow. That can cause a difference of as much as 0.2 seconds in my experience. Of course everyone disregards that rolling advantage and accepts the track as accurate. :grin2:

·
Registered
2015 Dodge Challenger R/T Scat Pack
1,189 Posts
Here are some times just for comparison purposes between street vs track that I had with my car (A8)...

0-60mph:
- 20" drag radials (stock tune) on street: 3.9
- 20" drag radials (stock tune) on track: 3.6
- 17" Racestars (Hemifever tune) on street: 3.7
- 17" Racestars (Hemifever tune) on track: 3.3

I never did any tests from street/track on the stock 245 Goodyears because those tires suck. The best I could manage on the street with those stupid things was a 4.4. I've seen some guys that have hit 4.1-4.2 though.