Dodge Challenger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still new with this car and have often wondered about the occasional 'trouble' getting into 2nd gear -especially when cold - seems as though the car wants to go from 1st to 4th - then i see this on the EVIC [1 > 4 Shift] - and have read recently about this as a factory setting to optimize fuel economy.

I guess my question is - is this a setting that can be deactivated? It's rather annoying. Could also just be the tranny giving me a hard time...

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

5,134 Posts
Yep, there is a solenoid that blocks the gates, forcing you to shift 1-4 when the conditions are right. There are two ways to turn it off:

1. Get a skip-shift eliminator

2. Get a Predator programmer and load up a tune

Google

·
Registered
2021 Charger SPWB
4,095 Posts
Skip Shift Eliminator

The skip shift function kicks in when you go slowly in 1st gear up to about 20 mph at which point it does not allow you to shift anywhere except 4th. Do a search here for "skip shift eliminator" and you will find tons of info on it. I picked one up on e-Bay for $12 or so and haven't even bothered to install it yet. The way I drive I'll probably never need it but I will put it on one day just in case.

Reactions: Roadrunner guy

·
Registered
551 Posts
I bought a skip shift eliminator from Speed, Inc. for $18.00. Total plug 'n play module. It took longer to get the car up on the jackstands than it did to install the pigtail. One year and 16,000+ miles - absolutely no issues. The skip shift crap just disappeared.

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
The way I drive I'll probably never need it.
I've driven 700 miles so far and have experienced the dreaded "skip shift" only twice. I'm sure partly because I VERY rarely am driving in "city traffic" where its stop and go all the time at very low speeds.