Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just bought a 17 challenger 5.7 RT 6 speed brand new and im not a big mechanical person I guess you can say I mean i've worked at an autopart store a couple years back but not familiar with hardcore engine components such as lifters/cams/springs ect... So my question is I'm planning on purchasing a SC and 274 comp cams (mostly for the sound) I was wondering if it would have any issues running this? I'll be running on stock internals so I'm not sure how far I can push it. I've tried looking up this combo on google before I posted just no luck.

Also curious as I heard these new challengers have an exhaust valve (not sure what you would call it) but I think when you push the sport mode it opens up that little module door and creates a louder noise coming from the exhaust (sorry im a noobie). Just wondering if theres a way to just delete that or just keep it open or if you can give me the name of that part so that I can search more info on that?

·
Registered
2013 Challenger SXT
1,221 Posts
I have seen some 5.7 hemi's with stock internals meaning crank, rods and pistons run to 650 hp at the crank with boost. Most don't recommend doing this and say 500 to 550 (crank) range is pretty safe for the 5.7 to give it longevity. Been a while back somewhere where I saw where some folks took a 5.7 til it broke. breaking it down to like the block was good for 700 hp, the crank was good for 650 hp and the pistons was good for 600 hp and so forth- been a long time since I read that- which means my hp levels of things breaking could be wrong.

I do know some folks have posted elsewhere where they will chime in and tout they are making big numbers with their 5.7 beyond the 550 crank mark, the question is for how long. Many sources seem to quote the same hp numbers between 500 and even 600 hp crank hp is all you should really push the stock 5.7