Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hows it going everyone!
Im new here and to be honest i sighned up because i recently discovered i have a coolant leak. At first i thought it was the gasket thats between the water pump assy and the engine block . i traced the leak at an area where the pump assy is bolted to the engine because coolant was depositing in the gap between the lower thermostat housing and engine block. so i bought a gasket for the repair. upon further inspection and taking some pics i found a hairline fracture where the bolt is screwed in ( could this happen by over tightening the bolt?). i attached two pics one with a close up of the crack (cicled in black) and the other with a wider view. im no expert but its not on the water pump assy but on the engine block? can someone help me with what to do about it and especially if i should take it to the dealer. its been ten years sense i perchased the car new so no warranty. its a 5.7 liter v8 with 55,000 miles and no street racing just gentle driving in the city and a few times to vegas for the past ten years. does this happen to a engine thats treated so well and only 5,500 miles per year ?
help is much appreciated

Thanks
john

·
Registered
2015 RT 5.7 M6
9,310 Posts
The spot you are showing is not the block, it is the timing chain cover. It sits between the block and water pump. It could be the cover or seal between the cover and block.

Below is the back side of a cover off a 5.7 jeep.

·
Premium Member
2018 Scat Pack SHAKER in Plum Crazy
3,628 Posts
I don't see a crack, I see a die casting parting line though.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
does the timing chain cover contain coolant? I don’t
I have no mechanic experience but do you think it can be replaced as easy as the water pump Assy?