Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2015 Dodge Challenger R/T, 1988 BMW E30 Convertible, 2001 BMW 530d Touring
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear Challenger fans,
please support me.
I am just purcased a 2015 Dodge Challenger R/T from the US. I need to convert the lamps to EU, so replace red LEDs with orange, and separate brake and turn indicator.
I am an electrical engineer with more than 20 years experience in electronic, SW.

Can anybody please help me, how can I open the outer tail light housing? I have not fund until now any not invasive procedure (I have seen cutting, laser cutting and similar)
Is there a way to open it with heating or with solvent?

On electronic side, do you have some best practice to do the conversion?
Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
2011 SXT Built in the Canada Plant
2,309 Posts
The Tail Light assemblies are sealed the Exterior Lens is RED and can not be changed by opening it up and putting Orange LEDS in them you would have to get custom Assemblies Made. Inside the Assemblies are Bulb Sockets and those Bulbs are Clear not colored. How ever maybe use Amber Light Bulbs in the Sockets with the Red Lens will produce the Orange you want.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The Tail Light assemblies are sealed the Exterior Lens is RED and can not be changed by opening it up and putting Orange LEDS in them you would have to get custom Assemblies Made. Inside the Assemblies are Bulb Sockets and those Bulbs are Clear not colored.
Thanks for the info. I mean the inner part with transparent part. As I experienced in videos and real cars from outside the transparent section's leds are partlyreplaced with orange leds. My biggest quiestion mark is the opening of the case. to reach the PCB assembly. How they do that? :)

·
Registered
2011 SXT Built in the Canada Plant
2,309 Posts