Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
i just bought a new 2017 challenger r/t from dealer, i got a little anxious to test her out on my way home from work, with 120 miles i placed her in sport mode and set dash to 0-60 timer and mashed pedal to metal. I did this 3 times with the best 0-60 time of 5.8 seconds. I'm a little concerned that the car isn't living up to it's performance potential because i read it reaches 60 in 5.1 to 5.2 seconds. I'm in FL with 100 degree roads.

Could this just be a break in period and it will definitely meet the performance potential or do I have a lemon?

Edit**
Dont do this to your car until it is broken in. Its best to break in the car first to a couple thousand miles before you push car that hard, im new to owning new cars so i was not privvy to this info.

·
Registered
173 Posts
My best is only 5.7 with the 6 speed manual. But that's with just normal tires on a normal road. They do their testing, along with other drivers who time it, on a track with nice hot sticky track pavement and hot tires, and lots of practice. I'm sure it's able to get those times on a normal road but when you see the advertised time, that's always done on a track, not some random highway.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,971 Posts
You don't have a lemon. Your car isn't even broken in yet, and 5.8 seconds is still in the ballpark. It takes practice, getting to know your car, etc. Take it easy while you're still in the break-in period. Don't overdo the 0-60 attempts yet. Faster times are ahead.

·
Super Moderator
2016 SXT Plus Blacktop
17,003 Posts
Where does the extra 70HP and 140ft lbs of torque show up if not down low? My V6 has done a 5.9, and that was around 80° out. I don't think that's unusual either. I'd have though the 5.7L would be at lease a 1/2 a second faster, if not more?

A Guy

·
Registered
2015 RT 5.7 M6
7,581 Posts