Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, excuse my ignorance I'm fairly new to the car scene and know virtually nothing! However I had a question about having my resonator deleted for my 2018 R/T...

..for anyone who has had this done, how is the interior drone at low RPMs? Low RPMs meaning under 2000. It's my daily driver and will be for quite some time and I'm concerned about noise. My girlfriend already complains on long rides if I have it in sport mode about the drone at lower RPMs (personally I don't think it's that bad at all) but I was just curious as to how it would sound? Or if anyone has any video links they could shoot my way with exterior + interior sound of a resonator delete?

Also, would anyone happen to know what dB levels it puts out? My city is a stickler for sound and the city ordinance is anything 80 and under is fine in 10-45mph zones, anything else is legal on highway and 50+ mph zones. Not TOO concerned with the "legality" of my exhaust sound, but wouldn't exactly want to earn myself a fresh ticket when I don't even have 5000 miles on it.

·
Registered
2015 Dodge Challenger SRT
493 Posts
I can’t speak to the 2018’s, but back when I had my 2011 R/T; I did a resonator delete and it was unbearable around town. Or just about any time the car went into 4cyl mode.

Unless you have a tuner disable the MDS (or drive in sport mode 100%) you’ll need either resonators or j-pipes to deal with the drone.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
629 Posts
Don't do it......

·
Registered
178 Posts