Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First post.

Ive been searching and cant really find anything on this. I don't understand how a T/A with a cold air type of setup, plus hellcat light setup, plus functional hood scoop isn't worth anything in terms of hp. If that's the case, there's no point in ANYONE buying a CAI for their cars. Not to mention the T/A is a CAI plus more.

Any thoughts on this?

One theory I heard was that these cars are speed density, so a CAI won't make a difference because speed density won't compensate for the extra, and cooler, air like a Mass Air system would. That kinda makes sense. I've had over 20 yrs experience with the fox body mustangs and they were MAF cars.

·
Registered
219 Posts
This is the perfect statement for those like me that thought that a Cai can increase hp.

Air Cooling: I've done many trials between OEM airfilter vs a CAI( and hellcat style front opening).
Summary : in a straight long drive CAI air temp is 3-5 °F higher than ambient while a OEM is 6-7°F. .
While in real daily drive with stops and lights the temp goes up much faster in the Cai system. So in a acceleration race from a stop a Cai Might delivery higher temp air which results in less HP.
In the highway also, i don't know how 1-2 °F can influence a performance.

My last thought on this is : for 300$ have a CAI is "cool" better view stuff to have with also a little deeper sound.
Would I buy it again? Probably not.
Actually Just in case of a supercharger.
Hope this helps

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
298 Posts
Good question - and I have the same question about the 5.7L T/A versus other 5.7L Challengers. My car (stock other than a catch can) recently made 351 HP @ the wheels. Is that in line w/ other 5.7L Challengers or a bit higher?

·
Premium Member
2,874 Posts
They get just about all they can out of these at the factory.

Reactions: 19johned53

·
Registered
9,667 Posts