Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been thinking about doing a cam on my '10 6 speed 5.7 since I installed my LT headers a few months ago. So after some research on here and Google I found the stock 392 cam and Mopar performance valve springs 68277306AA. Looking at these springs because they're significantly cheaper than any other spring on the market and offer the same or similar specs to most. So my question is would I need valve shims with these springs and if so what size? 0.30"? Gonna go with new .080 pushrods while I'm there as well for insurance since I'm at 60,000 miles and can't have anything go wrong.( It's my daily and I'm a college student)

Shout out to born to run for finding those valve springs for super cheap.

·
Registered
4,868 Posts
Born to run found out that the 68277306AA is the same spring found in the P5160074 kit.

P5160074 kit only requires shims for the 6.4 not the 5.7, even states in the advertisement.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Born to run found out that the 68277306AA is the same spring found in the P5160074 kit.

P5160074 kit only requires shims for the 6.4 not the 5.7, even states in the advertisement.
Awesome so just to verify, using a 6.4 cam, manley .120 pushrods, otherwise stock valve train, I won't need any shims with those springs in a 5.7?

·
Registered
4,868 Posts
No shims required for 5.7 eagle engine when installing a 6.4 cam using those springs. In fact, I have the same springs and will be installing a 6.2 (almost identical to 6.4 cam but longer duration slight difference in lift) cam in my 2015 5.7 M6. Was supposed to start yesterday but wifey has other plans for the long weekend.

On a M6 challenger the cam swap is pretty straight forward, just need beefier springs and pushrods.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #5