Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everyone
I have a 1970 Challenger that had a 318 in it but i have a 340 and tranny for it or a 440 and tranny. i would rather try the 440 conversion into it but need to know what is involved into doing it and what i need to do it. im a beginner but complete any challenge and want to do this right and not cut corners. any advice would be awesome thx steve

·
Registered
75 Posts
340 or 440

As I remember it, you need a heavier duty K frame for a big block. The 340 would bolt right in. The 340 is a very good engine and if it is a 71 or earlier one it should have a forged crank stock. If you just have to have the 440, you can bolt in a heavier K frame though. Must be terrible to have that choice. LOL

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
that might be a better choice going with the 340 because im buyin a 68 and 69 charger both have 383s and are in real good condition can put the 440 in one of them getting them both for 5000

·
Premium Member
386 Posts
Go with the 340 it just bolts right in and you can build it for performance mine puts out 500hp on the dyno. the 440 will bolt in but the K-member will have to be changed along with heavier torsion bars

·
Registered
33 Posts
ditto,you will hv to change k frame and heavier front springs
Misinformation

The K frame in the original Challengers is the same one used for all V-8's (except the Hemi). And there are no "springs". You simply raise the torsion bars for the additional weight. The only time you would need to change the K frame is if it was a six cylinder car. The 440 will bolt right in with the big block motor mounts. I had SIX small block Challengers and bolted a big block into all but two of them.

·
Banned
664 Posts
Misinformation