Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's up follow Challenger lovers,

I wanted to share with the community my experience in installing the COMP CAM VVT 270 cam. First off this is certainly not a mod for a novice. Secondly I'm not a profession mechanic, so following any of the steps listed here is done so at your own risk. You and you alone are responsible for any mods you do to your vehicle. If you don't feel confident in doing a mod like this, or don't have the proper tools, you should have a trained mechanic perform any install for you.

There are several references on the web, and the forums to assist with performing a cam install on a GEN III Hemi yourself. I would consider the difficulty in doing this sort of work a 5 wrench level. I performed this work in my spare time after my kids and wife were in bed so the amount of time it took me is most likely skewed. All said in done, I have about 30 hours into the install. This time includes tear down, trips around town for various parts, including my dealership/stealership, and local parts stores. If everything works out the way I need it to, I'll be finishing up the install tonight and heading down to Richmond VA, for the MSHS event tomorrow.

- One of the first things I did was watch several youtube video's on installing a cam in the Gen III Hemi. What I noticed was that there was nothing specific to my 13 Challenger R/T. So I've decided I'll post up what I did here.
- The next step I took was I downloaded the Edelbrok Eforce installation manual. This manual contains everything needed to disassemble the 08-14 Challengers (I'm certain most if not all of the steps apply to 15 and above as well.
- Next I jacked my car in the air using the guides mentioned on this site. There are several ways to do this, use which method works best for you. I supported my car at 4 corners using 3 ton rated Jack stands.