Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Can a 6.1 match a 302 in performance?

Hello, I have been lurking around the forum for a few months. I am a one of those Euro punk track junkies ;) who drives an Z4 M Coupe at the moment but grew up in a family of 5 siblings that all drove muscle cars. I made the mistake of Driving a '10 SRT8 and nostalgia must have taken over because I fell in love with the beast and all it's swagger and can't quit thinking how much better life would be if I had one in my garage haha.

I have been holding out for the 2011 SRT8 to see what develops but now that I can get such a smoking deal on a 2010 (9k off a loaded SRT8 locally) I am wondering if it is worth dropping the extra coins on the 2011 if I can match it's performance with a 2010.

I have about zero experience with Mopar world so my question to you seasoned Challenger folk is what kind of investment will it take to at least match the 2011 in power and handling. I would be happy with a 4.5 second 0-60 and would like to exceed the handling performance of the 2011. I can get over the weight issue if I can get this car to handle with confidence as I will no doubt throw it around the race track occasionally.

Thanks and enjoy your cars.

·
Registered
416 Posts
I'm new to Challengers but own a 2007 Charger SRT8... so my advice is slightly skewed.

I've driven BMW's and they are great machines... their overall balance is unmatched, so great choice on your current car!

These cars handle VERY well for 4200+ pound machines. Many folks track their SRT8's. Some have done suspension work, sway bars and strut braces being the primary mods. These simply button-down an already good setup.

The SRT8 will likely never have the balance and road feel of a BMW, but then again, these cars do have poweful, naturally aspirated engines with lots of torque.