Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
334 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2010 Challenger RT Classic 6 Speed and recently installed a skip shift eliminator. I love it! I'm pretty new to driving a manual and I find myself a bit nervous about accidently slaping the car into reverse intead of going into 5th gear. Is it possible to do this?? I'd like to believe there is some kind of lockout of the reverse mode while the car is in motion. By installing the skip shift eliminator did I bypass any protection of that??? I just don't want to be on the highway and find out the hard way. Sorry if this is a silly question. Thanks.

2010 Hemi Orange Challenger RT Classic
6 Speed Manual
Super Track Pak
Electronics Conv. Group
Mygig Nav with Sound Group II
White Stripes
Mods: Katzkin Pearl White Leather * Skip Shift Eliminator

·
Super Moderator
15,552 Posts
There's a reverse inhibitor solenoid on the 6-speed Tremecs - in these two instances, you can't get into reverse:

*moving forward (as in driving, or rolling >3 mph)
*ignition off

In short, the only way you can get reverse gear with the engine / ignition on is when you're just about at a full stop/ slower than 3 mph.

Reverse gear is fully synchronized on these Tremecs, and when shifting in the 5-6 gate in motion at speed, Reverse is blocked by the solenoid as a safety device (and to protect the tranny's internals).

This is also described in the owners' manual as well

·
Registered
334 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
There's a reverse inhibitor solenoid on the 6-speed Tremecs - in these two instances, you can't get into reverse:

*moving forward (as in driving, or rolling >3 mph)
*ignition off

In short, the only way you can get reverse gear with the engine / ignition on is when you're just about at a full stop/ slower than 3 mph.