Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,734 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I read that you can use the 91 octane tune, but retard timing at WOT in order to use 89 octane gas. I am fairly new to the Predator, and i initially installed the 91 octane (no cai) in the r/t only to realize that the stations around here use 89 and not 91 octane for the mid grade gasoline. Regular is 87 octane, mid grade is 89, and premium is 93. I really do not want to use 93 for daily driving duties, i can use 89, and while the tune is in the car currently i'm not going wide open with it yet, it feels responsive enough at mid to low throttle in traffic. But i'd like to adjust the tune appropriately so I can use it safely.

What do i need to do to adjust the timing or fuel a couple degrees at WOT? can someone point me to the steps necessary to adjust the tune? I still haven't installed the 180 thermostat yet, i figured i'd wait till spring before changing it out, and then i'd need to adjust the fans.

Thanks,
Lord Warlock

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
I cant imagine wanting to run 89 octane in this car.
It has high compression and is designed as a performance motor. Pulling spark to run 89 octane would be detuning it, and thats not what we do ;)

·
Registered
1,734 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Its been running just fine on 87 octane, before the tune, I only put 89 in because of the canned tune, but don't want to risk wot and engine damage, i'd remove the tune and go back to stock, and only switch tunes on a track day or a time when needed instead of risking it with sub par gas. I'd heard the six speeds needed 91 octane, but the autos were fine with 87 regular, and it runs well on regular. It runs better with the canned 91 perf tune. But not enough to pay for premium daily. Too much traffic to actually enjoy it driving daily with premium.

·
Registered
96 Posts
go to this web site, pretty good article on predator tuning
Diablosport Predator