Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I found a 2013 challenger SXT for $18,000 and only 30k miles. I personally believe that's a pretty good deal. The only issue is that im a college student with a part time job earning around $1000 a month, sometimes a bit more. I also live with my parents and fortunately they don't charge me for rent or anything at all (as long as I continue going to school, which I will) So do you guys think I will be able to afford it? Is it a good deal on paper? I have no problem finding a co-signer either. Of course other things go into consideration but I will find out when I go see the car and test drive it. Thanks in advance, I really appreciate the help!

Also, im planning on giving a down payment of $4k. I already have some money saved up so yeah.

·
Registered
228 Posts
NADA clean retail on a 2013 SXT with 30K and no options added is $20,950. So, yes the deal sounds good. You will want to make sure you run a Carfax on it to be sure it has not been wrecked or has some other problem. Can you afford it? Well that is a call only you can make based on your other expenses. Depending on your interest rate, payments are going to be about $300 per month on $15K. You may find it hard to get a loan with your income and may need a co-signer. Insurance will also be an issue given your age and will also depend on your driving record. Until you graduate from college you might want to consider a new or used economy car to meet your transportation needs.

Reactions: mike123

·
Premium Member
10,025 Posts
Welcome to the forum, the price appears to be good but 30,000 miles is a lot of miles for a 2013 car.
Now this is the parent in me talking but why live for a car? Get something reliable and finish school then get what you want.
Your $1000 a month is pre tax money? What do you have to spend post tax is what matters plus insurance is a consideration.