Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title says.. I'm looking to completely upgrade the audio in my 15 Challenger SXT+

I believe I have the sound group 1 package as the door speaker grills say Alpine but I have no Sub. I'll check tomorrow under the dash for the amp. But assuming that is the package I have, I have a few questions that hopefully some of you have already been through and could easily answer.

I'm a bit of a beginner in car audio but I am very experienced in diy'ing. I am comfortable with cutting, trimming and splicing if I absolutely need to.. but my goal is to do it without so that everything has the potential to return back to stock if need be.

MY expectations are not to win any competitions, just to merely increase the quality of the already decent sound quality that I have now. I have no cap on my budget, but i don't plan on paying ungodly amounts for certain name brands or db levels.

That all being said....

The biggest issue I believe I will have an issue with without ripping everything apart to find out for myself, is the width and depth of the factory cutouts.

I guess I'll start from the front and work my way to the back. Over the course of my research, one brand name kept popping up and that brand is Sundown Audio. They make a speaker for every cutout size I need except for the 3.5 so I'll have to divert a little bit there. But I'd like to keep everythign else inline with that brand unless I'm presented with a viable alternative.

The 3.5 cutouts in the front.. Would it be more benificial to just put 3.5 speakers in there or use the tweeters with a makeshift mount from a component 6x9 set. (I'm thinking the component would be a better option if that channel is truley blocking highs, unless an aftermarket amp could solve that issue). And as with all the speakers I'm about to mention, could you help me with the depth of those factory cutouts.