Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone autocross with their Challenger? I'm thinking about getting into it and I was wondering if anyone has any advice? It looks like a great time but the Chally looks a little big compared to what I've seen other people run.

·
Registered
62 Posts
There are several of us that autox and road race our challengers. Post below this one has a bunch of vids of me racing this year. I've been racing in CAM-C class this year and won the overall point series. If your area doesn't offer CAM, STP (street touring pony) is a new category for 2016 that should also be fun. You should find the car competitive locally but we are totally outclassed on a national level. Trying to race a 4400lb car against 3200lb cars is a tough task. Go out and have fun!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,890 Posts
I autocross my 2010 R/T and it is fun as hell. I'm still pretty new to it, and it's a big learning curve. I'll admit I feel a little out of place surrounded by Miatas, BR-Zs and whatnot, but I still have a blast. Compared with other cars on street tires, I've actually been decently competitive. Events are kinda hard to come by where I live, but when they do happen, it seems like every enthusiast in the area gets together for it. I've made a lot of friends doing it. Nobody seems to care that I wrestle a big heavy Challenger around a mall parking lot. I say go for it. You'll love it!

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the input guys. It looks like it would be a helluva lot of fun!

·
Registered
579 Posts
Is an automatic transmission a handicap or help in Auto X?
There is very little shifting in an AX, so there is not much difference. Left foot braking is much easier with an auto. It can be done with a manual, but pedal positioning makes it awkward. As you gain experience, left foot braking can offer some advantages.

·
Registered
1,364 Posts