Dodge Challenger Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I just got my car back from the shop yesterday afternoon for the third time. This most recent trip to the shop lasted just under a month. They still cannot tell me what's wrong with my car. From what I can tell the battery is being drained from the windows frequently rolling down and up about half an inch for some unknown reason. The first time it went in they told me it was the passenger door module (i am not a mechanic, so this is all a foreign language to me) after that was changed they said it was fixed. The next day, to my surprise I find the battery is dead yet again. So I return it to the shop. They proceed to tell me it's the driver side door module so they change it and give it back to me. Surprise, surprise. The battery is dead yet again the next morning. So i happily return it to be maintained again. This time it in there for 3 and a half weeks, while they "chase wires". This time it's a wiring harness that's causing the problems. This brings me up to yesterday when I happily pick my car back up after missing it for such a long time. Today after I come home from work I try and fire it up.. Guess what? Doesn't start. So my question is. Has anyone else had this problem. And what can I say to dodge about it? I've had a whole month of payments and insurance and no car.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
273 Posts
If your battery gets discharged overnight you have a pretty large parasitic draw and it should be easy to find.
I will list the diag steps to locate a draw.

1. Open both doors, hood and trunk lid, but lock all the latches.
2. You need a digital volt ohm meter (DVOM) to take an amp reading.
Technology Electronic device Electronics
3. Set the DVOM to measure "Direct Current".

4. Have your meter leads as follows - Positive lead in the "A" 10amp fused slot, and the negative lead in the "COM" slot.