Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
607 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure you guys know what I am talking about. I have a BB challenger and its new (2011, bought in mid april) and I see a bunch of swirls on the paint when it is in the sunlight. I'm guessing that this is in the clear coat? Wondering what the best way is of getting these off. Just a good wash? The car has been the the shop for the last 3 weeks so I havent had a chance to give it a bath yet.

·
Registered
226 Posts
That sucks, I also have a 2011 BB Challenger - and there are some minor imperfections in the clear coat (not swirls though).

Meguires Swirl X seems like a popular product - you can see some videos on their website on how it works.

But, you may want to wait for some more responses as I have no 1st hand experience on removing scratches/swirls yet - I have been doing lots of research however.

Good Luck,
Richard

·
Registered
104 Posts
Griot's polish works well.

·
Banned
7,159 Posts

·
Registered
852 Posts
A good abrasive polish and a Dual Action Polisher

·
Banned
7,566 Posts
I use Griot's products and have a detailing series of articles on my website (link in my sig).

Start with the mildest polish and see if it does the job, if not go to the next heavier one until you find the one that gets them out. Use a random orbital machine and you won't have to worry about harming the paint at all.

Griot's has specific pads for polish as well.

Once you find the polish that does the job, follow up with the next milder, and so on until you finish with the 1 step paint sealant.

My paint looks like liquid and folks ask me all the time at shows what I do to it.

·
Registered
3,380 Posts
I actually just sold my black car and bought white, swirls are now gone. lol

Well, I am sure there are swirl marks in my white car, but you have to look real close to see them now.