Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone help me out with a step-by-step procedure on changing my front brake pads???:SM030:

·
Registered
510 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Naw, this my first time getting hands on with brakes.

·
Premium Member
7,318 Posts
I'm thinking you just might want to pay the extra $80 to have the dealer install the brakes. ;)

·
Registered
1,749 Posts
Brakes are pretty straightforward but two things come to mind. Theres nothing to it if you know how to do it, and experience is what you get immediately after you need it.

·
Registered
1,383 Posts
Changing the pads is easy, I haven't done a Challenger yet but I was a service tech at Goodyear for awhile, you usually just have to remove 2 long screws and then pry off the calipers, you will probably need the rotors turned also if you want to have "good" results, although the new pads will eventually seat to unturned rotors after a bit if they aren't too bad.

·
Registered
957 Posts
Can anyone help me out with a step-by-step procedure on changing my front brake pads???:SM030:
I haven't done the challenger yet, but I have seen what it looks like down there. Here's a basic list:

1. Open brake fluid reservoir and set a rag loosely on top of it.
You want to allow the pressure to vent out when you compress the calipers later.
2. Loosen lug nuts on 1 axle
3. Jack car up 1 axle at a time.
4. Put in jack stands for stability
5. Remove first wheel
You should be looking at the rotor and caliper now.
Get a bungie or rope ready to tie off the caliper.
6. Remove 2 bolts from the caliper bracket (from rear). They'll be in a similar position as this:

7. Slide caliper off the old pads and tie off. DON'T let the caliper hang by the hose. You can destroy your brake line by letting it hang.
8. Slide off old pads.