Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking at the CAI for my V6 SXT and I am curious about the design. My current 2016 SXT has the air filter box that pulls air from the bottom. Most of the CAIs I have looked at do the same thing (they pull air from the same bottom vent). They have the top part open but to me there is not much of a difference. The air filter on CAI system is most likely less restrictive but if the Mopar's CAI seals the intake compartment at the top, the only air intake is still the bottom hole which the stock air filter uses. So what's the gain here if I install CAI besides the better look under the hood? Sorry if that's a stupid question but I am not a mechanic or an engineer. I am just curious.

·
Registered
2013 Challenger SXT
1,221 Posts
I am looking at the CAI for my V6 SXT and I am curious about the design. My current 2016 SXT has the air filter box that pulls air from the bottom. Most of the CAIs I have looked at do the same thing (they pull air from the same bottom vent). They have the top part open but to me there is not much of a difference. The air filter on CAI system is most likely less restrictive but if the Mopar's CAI seals the intake compartment at the top, the only air intake is still the bottom hole which the stock air filter uses. So what's the gain here if I install CAI besides the better look under the hood? Sorry if that's a stupid question but I am not a mechanic or an engineer. I am just curious.