Dodge Challenger Forum banner

Cam in 2019 challenger RT

8K views 21 replies 9 participants last post by  Party340 
#1 ·
So I am new to big mods on cars and I’d love to put the 274 comp cam into the 5.7 but I guess I don’t even know where to start as of now... what is the first 5 things I should do to prep and get ready to install this and where and who would be a good person to go to for tuning (location, Nebraska)

#3 ·
if you're planning on using on the street, I'd recommend a 266 cam at the most.

Even Comp recommends the 274 for stroker engines - you'll have better results with other cams.

There's folks I know with 392s that after doing the swap consider changing out to something other than the 274 they put in (again, street driven primarily)

#4 ·
Im going to run the 274 cam. If you have the rest of stuff to run it, its great in a 5.7. For best results you need to have headers, long tube preferably, intake that can support the top end, cam phaser lockout or limiter, unlocked pcm to be able to tune it, valve springs, pushrods to handle the new valve springs, if its automatic then you need lifters, gaskets and fluids. Water pump, thermostat, belt wouldnt hurt to change also. Components are off to do the swap and its cheap insurance.
If your on a budget then go with the 6.4 or 6.2 cam. Most wont upgrade the rest of whats needed to run the 274 cam in a 5.7 and they get poor performance. But if you have the rest of the mods then it will definitely wake the engine up and out perform the stock(6.2,6.4) cams.

#5 ·