Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I'm a newbie. I do some work in the agriculter industry and deal with center pivots. I recently got back from a training seminar and while I was at this seminar they informed us that the cell carrier that they utilize to give land owners the ability to remote monitor their pivots was going to be phasing out 3g connectivity. With the development of 5g on the horizon I guess 3g will be eventually phased out with all providers and 4gLTE along with the coming 5g will be the only connections available. This got me wondering about the 2016, 15, etc.,etc. If I'm not mistaken our uconnect systems are only capable of 3g or less, no LTE. So I guess my question is when 3g goes offline do our radios become just old-school radios again? What features will the 2016s and older loose? Maybe I'm way off base on this whole deal. All I know is that I was informed at our training seminar that we have a lot of cellular modems that will need to be changed out because they will eventually become inoperable due to the fact that they do not support LTE bands.

·
Registered
19 Posts
I never understood why they used 3G on the 15 and 16's when everyone else used 4G. Guess we will see what there answer is to this. I am assuming tough luck.

·
Super Moderator
16,216 Posts
I look at it this way - FCA can't push out bad updates Over The Air if 3G goes away.

If you have software that works, keep it the same and they can't screw it up.

We've seen how its been going for the past nine months so far for the lack of uConnect support.

I don't have faith in what they do...

·
Registered
19 Posts
I look at it this way - FCA can't push out bad updates Over The Air if 3G goes away.

If you have software that works, keep it the same and they can't screw it up.

We've seen how its been going for the past nine months so far for the lack of uConnect support.

I don't have faith in what they do...