Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Came on today on my way home from work...the temp outside is 15-20 with 0 degree wind chill.
I have a 180 degree themo and wondering if that could be the problem...seemed like it never really warmed up even after an hour on the freeway.
Here's a pic of the gauge...the car had been running for 45 minutes at 75 mph. Gonna get the code read tomorrow but was wondering everyone's thoughts. It usually never gets below 40 degrees here so it's obviously connected.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's a P0128 which is a thermostat problem/coolant, engine not reaching operation range. I've had several cars with 180 Tstats and no problems...but it is colder than it's been in a decade here.
Gonna reinstall stock tstat till summer.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Btw, when I posted the original post I had forgotten we can read the codes on these cars.
I guess pulling the #2 fuse will clear the code?

·
Registered
2,674 Posts
Btw, when I posted the original post I had forgotten we can read the codes on these cars.
I guess pulling the #2 fuse will clear the code?
I thought the #2 fuse was only for the learning adaptives?

·
Registered
4,434 Posts
It's a P0128 which is a thermostat problem/coolant, engine not reaching operation range. I've had several cars with 180 Tstats and no problems...but it is colder than it's been in a decade here.
Gonna reinstall stock tstat till summer.
I had a 180 thermostat on my Charger and ended up with that 'low coolant temp' code a few times on cold days. And that's in LA where we often wear shorts and T-shirts in the winter. So I'm keeping the stock Tstat because of that on my DD Challenger. IIRC I could clear codes just by pulling the fuse on that previous gen Charger, but I think it would go away on its own after a few cycles anyway.

·
Super Moderator
15,023 Posts