Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Been seeing this topic come up more and more lately, and I'm not a mechanic, but I wanted to address a couple observations I've made as someone who has owned and driven many a manual vehicle in my short life.

First - every manual I've ever owned/driven has made this "clunk" sound during a shift. Is it normal? I honestly couldn't tell you. But it is ABSOLUTELY not unique to the Challenger. I bought a lightly used Dakota in 2004 with a manual, drove it off the lot, and it made the "clunk" sound from the day I bought it to the day I got rid of it with over 150k miles. Never had a single transmission issue though.

My dad had a 2000 Camry that was a manual (and oddly enough, a fun car to drive. . . yeah, I know. Weird.) THAT car made that sound. You couldn't hear it ever on the inside of the car (I'm assuming because the Camry was insulated far better than a lot of cars) but you could hear it on the outside.

Buddy had a manual F-150 that would make that sound.

I had a manual Caliber that would make that sound.

If you type in a quick Google search on clunking manuals, you will find that this question is asked on every forum for every car make and model with a manual.

As some of you know, I'm quick to call out the Challenger's poor build quality and general lack of mechanical soundness, but in this case, I'm coming to its defense. The Challenger isn't a well insulated vehicle, so it makes sense that you can hear the "clunk" sound when you shift.

The best way to get rid of the clunk? Work on your shifting. You can minimize it to the point where you won't hear it. If you shift hard and fast, you'll hear it. If you shift smooth and let off the clutch easy, I'm betting you won't hear it.