Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a pretty new Challenger owner (since the summer) and I'm now getting really curious about what my R/T can actually do. I've been driving stick for the last 18 years but never had a lot of horsepower nor a reason to dump the clutch or do burn outs. Now that my car is fairly broken in and I'm very comfortable with the clutch and the shifting, I'm wanting to have some fun with this baby... But not at the expense of ruining my clutch. I've read some horror stories about people ruining their cars trying to do burn outs and so I'm a bit nervous about doing something stupid.

So my question - what is way you'd recommend to dump the clutch, not for a burnout but just to get those wheels spinning and lay some serious tracks? Is dumping the clutch literally pulling your foot off the clutch from the floor with zero feathering? It seems that the clutch engages pretty high up, so my instinct is to put down the clutch, shift into first, rev up higher than usual (to say 3500?) and ease up on the clutch until right before I know it will engage, and then let it up completely and push the gas to the floor. Does this sound right? How do you dump (RPMs, etc(

I have a 2013 rt plus 6 speed.

I appreciate your input! Thanks in advance!

·
Super Moderator
15,047 Posts
You don't want to do a high(er) rpm clutch side step and dump - you'll get wheel hop...and its bad on the differential.

Do that enough and you'll end up changing the clearances in the diff and end up with a whining/howling diff.

It takes feathering the throttle ~ 2,500rpm and modulating the throttle to get an effective launch.
If you slip the clutch a lot a higher rpm, you'll overheat the lining and shorten the clutch's life (they aren't cheap to replace).

·
Registered
148 Posts