Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just put a cold air intake on my 3.6l challenger and noticed that at high rpm 6k or more there is a loud about 3 second rattle noise then it stops. I checked everything and there is no metal on metal touching or loose connections. I dont kw if this is engine noise coming though the intake or what but it only does it if u floor the car and the rpm gets above 6k anyone else every had this issue or know what could cause it. It real takes away from the nice woosh sound

·
Premium Member
2,811 Posts
I've never run my 3.6 at 6000 RPM, so I have no experience in that.

Question. Did the you ever have the engine at 6000 RPM before the cold air intake was installed?

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Im not sure the car only has 14k on it and im not sure if the factory air box just muffled it or what but i dont how u never run ur car that high if u floor the car it red lines at 7k b4 it shifts. Thats just factory set up on the car

·
Super Moderator
2016 SXT Plus Blacktop
23,749 Posts
My car shifts at 6200RPM, but is only above 6k for a brief time I believe (not a great video :) )

A Guy

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·