Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

I just recently bought a challenger (2017 392 Scat Pack Shaker - automatic). About a week and a half ago I placed the car in a storage unit as winter is approaching. The unit does not have a power outlet. When I checked on the car today it appears the battery is dead already. What is weird is I got into the car and the start button blinked a couple of times and so did the shifter. However the dash never light up, the car did not start and I could not compress the brake pedal. Is this a dead battery or something else? The window did not slightly roll down when I opened the door. I had to use a little force to open. I am a newbie here and do not know much about cars. When I placed the car in the unit I left the doors unlocked and the parking brake off.

What would you suggest I do? I did not have jumper cables with me. I will have to find about 25 ft cables as I did not back the car into the unit as I am an idiot and did not think about it.

I only have about 1100 miles on the car so it is hard to believe the battery is dead. The key fob also would not unlock or open the trunk. Hopefully I won’t have to crawl into the trunk for the release as I am a bigger guy and would probably have to use the jaws of life to get back out.

I would like to thank everyone in advance for sharing their knowledge.

·
Registered
760 Posts
Will comfortably say it is the battery. All the symptoms you describe indicate a dead (nearly dead) battery. Some light or something was probably left on and drained it or perhaps you have a parasitic drain somewhere (I wouldnt be alarmed until you know nothing was left on).

Need a jump or different battery to get it out of the unit.

·
Registered
50 Posts