Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I wanted to upgrade my speaker system and after lots of reading reviews and articles I decided on these for my door speakers and I'm sort of disappointed. They don't seem like they kick as hard as the stock speakers but everything I read said they're great. They're 4ohm which could be the problem but I couldn't find any speakers that we less then that that actually had good reviews. Also, are our rear speakers 6.5 or 6 3/4? I read they're 6.5 but the 6.5 speakers I bought, shown below, didn't fit at all because they were way too small. Any help would be great because I'm pretty lost on what went wrong.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
The Bacon Hauler (‘12 Cop Charger)
6,088 Posts
I am no expert when it comes to automobile audio systems, but I've done quite a bit of reading and research on upgrading the stock systems in these cars, and from that I have learned there are a few things to keep in mind when purchasing aftermarket hardware.

1) you want the smallest number of "ways" you can get on your speakers.

In other words, 2-way is preferable to 3-way, and 3-way is preferable to 4-way, and so on. The more "ways" the speaker has, the more it has to divide the given surface area of its speaker cone up to cover those "ways", and that means none of them (especially the low end driver) will sound really great (since the speaker has to make them all sound just good enough). Plus, the power the speaker uses has to be divided up among all the pieces, leaving less for the actual low-end driver component.

So in that context, I would not be surprised that a 5-way 6x9 had less punch in its low end when compared to the OE 6x9, which is basically just a 1-way devoted to low-end sound only.

2) if the factory head unit is going to power the aftermarket speaker, the RMS wattage of the speakers should be relatively low.