Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2019 Sublime Shaker, 2010 Plum Crazy R/T Classic, 2010 Detonator Yellow R/T Classic
1,936 Posts
Yesterday I got ran into by a big SUV. I think it’s going to be totaled I’m not sure I need other opinions.

That’s alot of damage, every panel on that side has to be replaced and you have bulkhead and “A” door pillar damage as well. It’s possible to fix this, I have seen it done before. It’s a matter of what your insurance company or rather his insurance company says.

·
Premium Member
9,671 Posts
Air bags deploy? Does it drive and track straight? Most importantly, you weren’t hurt I hope.
I don’t think it’s a total but it’s whats underlying that matters.

Reactions: sdr2711

·
Premium Member
2,658 Posts
I'm no expert but doesn't look like enough damage to total it to me.

·
Registered
1,083 Posts
If I were you I would ask The body shop to please push for it to be totaled. It will probably never be the same and the resale value just dropped drastically.

·
Registered
537 Posts
If I were you I would ask The body shop to please push for it to be totaled. It will probably never be the same and the resale value just dropped drastically.
Good luck with that..... The body shops want cars NOT to be totaled so they can do the repair and make money. If its totaled they make nothing because the insured driver will just go out and buy another car. These shops know the "totaled" value and will make sure they keep their repairs under that figure. I saw it happen to a coworker who got t-boned at an intersection. Less than a year old Acura "something" which looked like a pretzel. Yup, they fixed it becuase the estimates from three different body shops were all just below the "total" figure. I hope the OP makes out ok, :|

·
Registered
6,546 Posts
It just maybe if the diminished value is high enough. Personally I would not want that car after that much damage.

·
Registered
1,549 Posts