Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2020 Scat Pack M6
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I've never run down the drag strip and would like to take my 20 scat down the local 1/8 mile track next spring. I have no idea what type of wheel/tire setup I'll need to buy. The car has the 4 piston brembos. I'm a total novice and don't want to spend a fortune but I'm sure it'll probably cost me a couple grand right? What do you guys use? Is there anything else I'll need to do to the car before hitting a local test a tune night at the track?

Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
2015 SRT 392
3,598 Posts
My suggestion is that if you're just going to take her to the strip occasionally then I'd just learn/practice on launching on the standard street tires. Take her to the track stock and just experiment to see what works before spending money. Why spend money if you don't have to?

I've found that the best mod that Anyone can do with their car is the driver mod. You just get to know what you have to do to get the most out of your Scat Pack.

If you're looking to go to the track often and don't mind spending the money on wheels and tires, then maybe a set of Nitto drag radials (NT555RII's would work or a set of NT555R's).

Just my thoughts and if/when you go to the track, Please be safe and have fun! (y)

·
Registered
2011 SXT Built in the Canada Plant
2,324 Posts
Just slapping on Slicks is not necessarily a good start as suggested by Freddy, in fact you can get your hands full fast if your not careful...

·
Registered
2016 Scat Pack Shaker
972 Posts