Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I took my Eibach pro kit plus into a shop today to have them install it (MIDAS). After talking with some of the mechanics on the install time I decided to just have the Springs and shocks installed because they were saying it would be another 5 plus hours in labor just for the sway bars on the v6. I'm no mechanic , but why does it say 2.5 hour install on the instructions manual? I have read some other stories online about installing sway bars , but would like to ask on here to confirm what the install time should be for a shop on sway bars for a V6 challenger. Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
2016 SXT Plus Blacktop
16,996 Posts
Maybe because it was Midas? No speedshop type shops in the area?

A Guy

·
Registered
199 Posts
The front one is easy 20 minute job the rear one I can do in about 2 hours. I've done it a few time now. The first time I did the rear one took me about 5 hours. All on jack stances.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Did your front sway bar come with new brackets or just bushings and use the stock mounting brackets?

·
Registered
96 Posts
Rear bar install has to either have the cradle removed or dropped. Or they can cut out sheetmetal and try to remove that way. I would prefer cradle drop, but if they have never done that type of work I would be careful.

·
Super Moderator
15,391 Posts
Rear bar install has to either have the cradle removed or dropped. Or they can cut out sheetmetal and try to remove that way. I would prefer cradle drop, but if they have never done that type of work I would be careful.
Any shop that suggests cutting sheetmetal for that install - run away, as fast as possible!

4 large bolts on the cradle, the rear resonator support bolts / ground straps, and unbolt the brackets for the brake lines at wheel wheel and lower shock mounting bolt and lower the cradle ~ 4".