Dodge Challenger Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many years can we expect the electronics to work in our cars? Will the car function in 20, 30, 40, 50 years? I love all of the features my Scat Pack has...but I hate that, to me, it makes the car that much more vulnerable to failure in the future. I'm a commercial AC tech, and often see electronic component failure shut critical AC units down for non critical reasons. Its very common for boards to begin to go blind in a sense, losing the ability to accept data from various analog inputs.
If my grandkids were to end up with my car in 50 years let's say, would they be drilling the pushbutton ignition out to install a keyswitch? Screwing aftermarket gauge panels under the dash? A toggleswitch for the steering wheel heater? I'm joking but something would have to be done for the more critical functions....what do you think happens to a Challenger in 40 years? Future generations ever gonna witness the bee flash across your screen on startup?

Registered
2016 Challenger R/T Scat Pack Pitch Black A8
I figure when I get finished with my challenger I will be dead and gone and it will be about done as well. I'm not saving my car, Harley or guitars so the kids can enjoy them. They can look at all my stuff and see what a good time I had in life. Hopefully they will get to enjoy whats left but if not oh well.
As far as the electronics on these cars, in the future I personally think that it will be a problem but if gas is still flowing and self driving cars haven't taken over the roads I really think someone will step up and rebuild the components necessary to keep them on the road馃槈

Registered
2020 Dodge Challenger Hellraisin Scat Pack