Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for some help from the forum! I have a 2013 Challenger RT. I'd like to upgrade the sound, but I'm basically a rookie when it comes to working on cars, other than basic stuff... with that said i'm not afraid to tackle a somewhat easy job in my garage, if possible.

I'm looking to upgrade the sound and would love someone to point me in the right direction! Do most of you upgrade it yourself in your garage, or take it to the dealer? I do see there are complete systems you can buy but i've also read about "axle back" upgrades that look a lot easier for a rookie to install at home.

Can anyone recommend anything that I could install on my own (with a buddy) at home in my garage? Or is the best bet to go to a Dodge dealer and order everything and have installed. Obviously saving some $ and doing myself would be nice. But I could use some advice from the forum.

Thanks!!

·
Registered
155 Posts
you can definitely install a kit yourself at home if you have a jack, jack stands and basic tools- I installed a cat back Flowmaster American Thunder kit on my Challenger in a few hours....and a Pypes Violator kit on my wife's SRT8 Magnum in about the same...it actually takes longer to get the old exhaust off than install the new one! Worst part is deciding what you want it to sound like...I love the Flowmaster kit on my Challenger, but because it is a 6 speed I wasn't worried about the 'drone' issues because of MDS...Same with the Magnum (although the Violator system is considerably louder than the Flowmaster system)...but if you have an automatic and MDS that may be an issue for you-:thumbsup:

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for the reply. Yes, i have an automatic. Is noise inside the car a big issue after changing the exhaust?

·
Registered
1,398 Posts