Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greeting to you all

This subject has probably been discussed many time and in numerous threads throughout all challenger forums.

But the reason I am opening it again is to once and for all have a clear vision on how to safely super/turbo charge the infamous 6.4 392 engine without tearing it apart.

Now I know the majority simply would advise not to waste money and brain cells due to the weakness of the engines internals. In fact all of you probably would advise trading it for a hellcat. Now if that was easy and accessible to everyone. this discussion wouldn't be opened over and over.

So, yes I regret not buying a hellcat. not just because its more powerful. but I was a rookie and did not realize the politics behind it. Dodge probably realized that everyone would go to the cheaper alternative and buy a 6.4 and modify it and it would leave the hellcat with a handful of buyer, thus maybe intentionally giving the 392 weak internals that do not handle boost. So by modifying your 6.4 would probably empty your pockets and you would have saved a lot of money by simply buying the 6.2 supercharged Hemi.

Now all that aside (regret, Money wasting and headache). I cannot replace my 6.4. it is not that simple in counties outside of the U.S.

I am left with an ultimatum. Boost my 2016 srt 392 challenger :')

Now, Other than forged pistons, rods, Fuel system and gaskets. What other parts/internals do I need to take in consideration to make my 392 engine withstand at least hellcat power. I'm not talking 1000+ HP. something within the 650-700 Whp.

And if it helps. how could you even improve it to 1000+ HP I am guessing of course changing more internals.

I would really appreciate help from you guys who have had experience with such matters.